Almo Nature Dog Food Holistic Medium : Huge bag = good value

This is at the higher end of the dog food market. £41 for a 12kg bag means it is not a cheap option. There are no artificial preservatives, colourings or flavourings they say, so that is a plus. The meat content is quite high with around 20% coming from fresh chicken meat. Brown rice seems to have been used and there is glucosamine and chondroitin in there too. My dog is not a particularly fussy eater and there are few brands she has turned her nose up at and this is no exception, it was happily wolfed down and the plate licked clean. I have seen no detrimental effect to her coat so i am happy with it too.

Very popular with our labradors. We have three greedy labradors who live for their stomachs. All three are a bit lighter with this food but i’m sure they don’t notice. The kibble itself has a very pleasant smell (to humans) and is apparently delicious to our dogs. The shape of the kibble helps to keep canine teeth ‘clean’ and was much enjoyed. It’s a reasonably price compared to other brands. However, i’d like to see the bag swapped for something a bit stronger and with a reseal top as you don’t want to encourage mice, slugs (yes they love the stuff too) or clever labradors who find out how to nose the bag open and have a picnic.

High meat content – good for a canine. I have an alaskan malamute whose staple diet was previously arden grange and then burns. Thought i’d try this as i had never heard of the brand ‘almo’. Dog owners should *really* look at the ingredients of the dog food they buy as they are very different, particularly the terms which are used. For instance, a certain expensive brand use bird feathers and call this ‘protein derivatives’. At least the burns ingredients are specific so you know exactly what is in the bag, however with almo it looks like some are masked:ingredients are listed as:meat and animal derivatives 53% (of which 26% freshly cooked chicken) – presume this is by weight?. Is the 26% cooked chicken meat or does that include all parts of a chicken?cereal (rice 14%, barley, oats)vegetable protein extracts – doesn’t specify what vegetablesvegetable and derivatives of vegetable origin – i do wonder what these are. Gone off cabbage?oil and fatsyeastmineralsmosfos. All the ingredients are on the back but suspect this is an italian food because the english text is third from the top. Kibble size is triangular and about 1cm on each side. Dog eats it but is not as desperate for it as he is with some other foods. His weight is not on the label so i’ve had to extrapolate. Although his stomach isn’t rumbling, he now has awful flatulence. Here are the specifications for the Almo Nature Dog Food Holistic Medium:

  • High percentage of fresh meat used (up to 26%) making it very tasty for dogs
  • Highly palatable, Suitable for fussy, selective or sensitive dogs
  • Completely natural ingredients with no artificial chemicals flavourings or preservatives
  • Natural and well balanced

High meat content = good for dogs. Over many years, we have fed our dogs a variety of different so-called premium brands (including james wellbeloved, eukanuba, and royal canin). Our dogs are not fussy eaters, but we have tried different brands for health reasons (for example to manage a skin condition and weight gain). I was pleased with almo nature food because it is so high in actual meat content.Comparing it to the bag that we currently have of another brand, i was surprised that almo nature has 50 percent more meat than the other ‘premium brand’. I’m no scientist, but that to me can only be good news: that we’re feeding our dogs more meat rather than the rice and flour and other ingredients that are in their foods. This almo nature is also about the same price as the other brand that we had been using. Again, that’s surprising that a meatier brand should cost no more. But that’s another vote in favour of almo nature.

Good organic ingredients = glossy coat, happy dog. Firstly, i have only marked this down due to the price it is being advertised at. If you search you can get it a lot cheaper, about £10 a large bag at least. I currently get it for £31 a bag of 12kgactual review:smeegle loves this and it really is the only food that makes his coat glossy and gives him supreme health. We used to get it in a local shop and when that closed down we tried other ‘premium’ food but they just didn’t come close at all, making his coat dull and his energy go. When we found z**p*** did almo nature way cheaper than we used to buy it for we were overjoyed and even today z**p*** is by far the cheapest for almo nature. High in actual protein this is definately the food for a picky cllie with a very sensitive tummy. Smeegle went for an operation earlier this year and the vet honestly marvelled at his condition, thinking he was alot younger than he actually is and i put that down to a good diet and plenty of exercise. She also said, although they don’t use this food in their surgery, she thinks it is very good quality and recommends i carry on with it. Be aware, as your dog ages, the levels of protein he or she needs must decrease as well as too much protein can cause issues.

Reviews from purchasers :

  • our dogs liked it
  • Quality food for our boy
  • Very pleasing dog food

I have a 6 year old golden retriever who is a very fussy eater (and has been this was since he was a puppy). For this reason, i am hesitant to try new bands with him, or buy large packs, in fear of it going in the bin. If i ever do try a new brand, i will introduce it slowly in small amounts. The almo nature was a nice surprise, as he immediately gobbled it up. From a nutritional perspective, it seems to tick all the boxes, and i have not noticed any change in mylo’s stool consistency (apologies for the details, but it may be of value to owners who have dogs with sensitive bowels). All-in-all, i am very pleased and will be purchasing some more of this particular brand.

Whether or not the holistic-ness makes any real difference i couldn’t say. It also smells quite nice, unlike a lot of dogfood. Obviously the price is high but based on the ingredients it seems on par with other brands such at eukanuba.

One Comment

  1. AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice Verified Purchase

    on November 15, 2017 at 3:40 pm -

    Good size bag of food, dogs are eating it and clear their bowls, i do mix it with wet meat for them but also every now and then mix it with another biscuit for a change or them, seems to be a good quality food and doesnt smell too much.
    • AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice Verified Purchase

      on November 17, 2017 at 11:12 am -

      Good size bag of food, dogs are eating it and clear their bowls, i do mix it with wet meat for them but also every now and then mix it with another biscuit for a change or them, seems to be a good quality food and doesnt smell too much.
  2. AUTHORStyle: Salmon and Rice

    on November 18, 2017 at 5:50 pm -

    This review is from : Almo Nature Dog Food Holistic Medium with Salmon and Rice 12 Kg

    Great food for my little dog. My dog really enjoy eating almo nature dog food. She is a cairn terrier and loves the food. My dog normally prefers wet food but she really loves this dry food. She eats all her bowl in no time. Also her hair is bright and soft.
    • AUTHORStyle: Salmon and Rice

      on November 19, 2017 at 5:20 pm -

      Great food for my little dog. My dog really enjoy eating almo nature dog food. She is a cairn terrier and loves the food. My dog normally prefers wet food but she really loves this dry food. She eats all her bowl in no time. Also her hair is bright and soft.
      • AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

        on November 20, 2017 at 8:37 pm -

        My dogs loved the food, i can’t tell the difference in their behaviour or health with eating it but my main problem that for the money you would expect a resealable bag. It lasted weeks in our house and we had no way of making sure it was resealed other than tying it up with a bit of string.
  3. AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

    on November 22, 2017 at 5:52 am -

    This review is from : Almo Nature Dog Food Holistic Medium with Salmon and Rice 12 Kg

    My dogs loved the food, i can’t tell the difference in their behaviour or health with eating it but my main problem that for the money you would expect a resealable bag. It lasted weeks in our house and we had no way of making sure it was resealed other than tying it up with a bit of string.
    • AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

      on November 23, 2017 at 3:57 am -

      Our big dog eats anything vaguely resembling food, but the jack russel is a fussy eater. I’m not sure how else you can review animal food, unless you have a chemical analysis. Obviously all animal food is made from the stuff not used for human consumption. In the end we have to trust the producers, and this company certainly makes all the right noises with clearly showing the ingredients on the pack, and projecting a caring attitude. Their whole presentation shows a friendly, caring side. You want to believe that it is more than just clever marketing. Let’s hope this is not misplaced, from what i can see, i recommend this dog food.
  4. AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

    on November 25, 2017 at 8:29 am -

    This review is from : Almo Nature Dog Food Holistic Medium with Salmon and Rice 12 Kg

    Our big dog eats anything vaguely resembling food, but the jack russel is a fussy eater. I’m not sure how else you can review animal food, unless you have a chemical analysis. Obviously all animal food is made from the stuff not used for human consumption. In the end we have to trust the producers, and this company certainly makes all the right noises with clearly showing the ingredients on the pack, and projecting a caring attitude. Their whole presentation shows a friendly, caring side. You want to believe that it is more than just clever marketing. Let’s hope this is not misplaced, from what i can see, i recommend this dog food.
  5. AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

    on November 27, 2017 at 3:39 pm -

    This review is from : Almo Nature Dog Food Holistic Medium with Salmon and Rice 12 Kg

    I have both pet and working labradors and a small terrier and they are normally fed on csj dry food. I swapped them straight over to the almo food, which they happily tucked into and it caused no digestive problems such as tummy upsets or with what was produced at the other end. Being chicken and rice based, this is gentle on the stomach but the food also contains barley and oat cereal which may not agree with all dogs. Also the protein content is high at 25% and although this sort of content suits my working dogs, a regular pet dog/young dog may become rather hyper on this amount. I was happy to feed this food to my dogs but at £41. 99 for a 12kg bag, it’s on the expensive side. The product is described as hypo-allergenic for sensitive dogs so this is probably a good choice for those dogs with allergies, skin conditions and food intolerances.
    • AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

      on November 28, 2017 at 7:35 pm -

      I have both pet and working labradors and a small terrier and they are normally fed on csj dry food. I swapped them straight over to the almo food, which they happily tucked into and it caused no digestive problems such as tummy upsets or with what was produced at the other end. Being chicken and rice based, this is gentle on the stomach but the food also contains barley and oat cereal which may not agree with all dogs. Also the protein content is high at 25% and although this sort of content suits my working dogs, a regular pet dog/young dog may become rather hyper on this amount. I was happy to feed this food to my dogs but at £41. 99 for a 12kg bag, it’s on the expensive side. The product is described as hypo-allergenic for sensitive dogs so this is probably a good choice for those dogs with allergies, skin conditions and food intolerances.
  6. AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

    on November 29, 2017 at 3:35 pm -

    This review is from : Almo Nature Dog Food Holistic Medium with Salmon and Rice 12 Kg

    Good quality dog food, which our jrt liked. He is a fairly fussy pup, and often looks for ‘better’ alternatives when his food is put down, but this one was a hit. I liked the size of the kibble for him, and the ‘output’ was not smellyquite expensive food, but reasonable if you are feeding a smaller breed – larger breeds will obviously need more food and hence a higher cost.
    • AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

      on November 30, 2017 at 1:32 pm -

      Good quality dog food, which our jrt liked. He is a fairly fussy pup, and often looks for ‘better’ alternatives when his food is put down, but this one was a hit. I liked the size of the kibble for him, and the ‘output’ was not smellyquite expensive food, but reasonable if you are feeding a smaller breed – larger breeds will obviously need more food and hence a higher cost.
  7. AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

    on December 2, 2017 at 7:45 am -

    This review is from : Almo Nature Dog Food Holistic Medium with Salmon and Rice 12 Kg

    This food is well liked by our cocker spaniels – mind you, they would eat anything which looked remotely like fooda bug bear i have with many dog foods is that there is no way of resealing the bag once it is open. The alternative is to use an air tight bin or container or make sure the dog(s) are hungry enough to eat this quicklyi am not a dog nutritionist and can only make assumptions as to the nutritional qualities of almo dog food. The list of ingredients suggests quality and i would not have any qualms about changing to this food if prolonged usage did not give rise to any problems.
  8. AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

    on December 4, 2017 at 11:59 am -

    This review is from : Almo Nature Dog Food Holistic Medium with Salmon and Rice 12 Kg

    This food is well liked by our cocker spaniels – mind you, they would eat anything which looked remotely like fooda bug bear i have with many dog foods is that there is no way of resealing the bag once it is open. The alternative is to use an air tight bin or container or make sure the dog(s) are hungry enough to eat this quicklyi am not a dog nutritionist and can only make assumptions as to the nutritional qualities of almo dog food. The list of ingredients suggests quality and i would not have any qualms about changing to this food if prolonged usage did not give rise to any problems.
  9. AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

    on December 5, 2017 at 1:50 pm -

    This review is from : Almo Nature Dog Food Holistic Medium with Salmon and Rice 12 Kg

    As soon as this very large (12kg) bag of dog food arrived at the house, the four year old springer spaniel was intrigued. She showed just as much gusto when fed for her tea. She wolfed it all down and was whining for seconds. She’s not a particularly fussy eater but certainly wouldn’t eat just any old thing so that definitely a plus point. The main reason i was drawn to this food is because, firstly, the ethos of the company that one size doesn’t fit all even if the dogs are the same breed, age and etc. The second thing is that it is made with good quality, natural ingredients that are perfect for the dog’s health and wellbeing. I would suspect that this is why it’s more expensive than your average supermarket dog food. Overall, the dog was pleased.
  10. AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

    on December 6, 2017 at 11:45 pm -

    This review is from : Almo Nature Dog Food Holistic Medium with Salmon and Rice 12 Kg

    As soon as this very large (12kg) bag of dog food arrived at the house, the four year old springer spaniel was intrigued. She showed just as much gusto when fed for her tea. She wolfed it all down and was whining for seconds. She’s not a particularly fussy eater but certainly wouldn’t eat just any old thing so that definitely a plus point. The main reason i was drawn to this food is because, firstly, the ethos of the company that one size doesn’t fit all even if the dogs are the same breed, age and etc. The second thing is that it is made with good quality, natural ingredients that are perfect for the dog’s health and wellbeing. I would suspect that this is why it’s more expensive than your average supermarket dog food. Overall, the dog was pleased.
    • AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

      on December 8, 2017 at 2:30 am -

      Dog very happy with this food. . The dog loves this dog food. He is a bit fussy, but he eats this food as soon as we put it down for him. Nutritionally it looks very good, and he has no digestive problems with it. Sometimes he gets an upset stomach with new dog foods. I am not sure though if the price of this food is entirely justified, it may be if you have a fussier dog, or one with digestive problems. My only real gripe is that the food comes in a big bag with no way of closing it. I am used to this with the cheaper dog foods i usually buy, but at this premium price i would expect a little thought for convenient packaging.
  11. AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

    on December 8, 2017 at 2:00 pm -

    This review is from : Almo Nature Dog Food Holistic Medium with Salmon and Rice 12 Kg

    Dog very happy with this food. . The dog loves this dog food. He is a bit fussy, but he eats this food as soon as we put it down for him. Nutritionally it looks very good, and he has no digestive problems with it. Sometimes he gets an upset stomach with new dog foods. I am not sure though if the price of this food is entirely justified, it may be if you have a fussier dog, or one with digestive problems. My only real gripe is that the food comes in a big bag with no way of closing it. I am used to this with the cheaper dog foods i usually buy, but at this premium price i would expect a little thought for convenient packaging.
    • AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

      on December 9, 2017 at 2:32 am -

      This kibble is full of good things,has quite a high meat content and no artifical additives,so all in all it can only be good for your dog. However,one of our dogs has a sensitive stomach, and eating this did not stop him having diarreah after eating sheep p** in the surrounding fields or from being sick,so although this feed might be healthy it is certainly no miracle cure. We normally feed our dogs chappie,which is half the price,mixed with a little tinned dog meat (which stops diarreah more effectively than anything else we’ve tried) and our dogs are both in very fine condition to the point where people,including the vet,comment on how healthy they look/are. Prior to using chappie we tried a number of different,more expensive,feeds and i can honestly say there appears to have been no difference in the health of either dog whatever we’ve fed them. But then they get a couple of hours exercise off the lead every day and we also play with them every day,this more than anything makes for a healthy animal. Obviously,this isn’t possible for every dog owner,so if you’re concerned about your dog’s health and are able and prepared to pay quite a high price then i think i’d prefer this to any of the other well known brand names out there. But if the only thing wrong with your dog is that it is prone to diarreah and you only feed it kibble,my advice would be to include some meat in its meals – you’ll notice the difference within a few days.
      • AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

        on December 9, 2017 at 7:10 pm -

        This kibble is full of good things,has quite a high meat content and no artifical additives,so all in all it can only be good for your dog. However,one of our dogs has a sensitive stomach, and eating this did not stop him having diarreah after eating sheep p** in the surrounding fields or from being sick,so although this feed might be healthy it is certainly no miracle cure. We normally feed our dogs chappie,which is half the price,mixed with a little tinned dog meat (which stops diarreah more effectively than anything else we’ve tried) and our dogs are both in very fine condition to the point where people,including the vet,comment on how healthy they look/are. Prior to using chappie we tried a number of different,more expensive,feeds and i can honestly say there appears to have been no difference in the health of either dog whatever we’ve fed them. But then they get a couple of hours exercise off the lead every day and we also play with them every day,this more than anything makes for a healthy animal. Obviously,this isn’t possible for every dog owner,so if you’re concerned about your dog’s health and are able and prepared to pay quite a high price then i think i’d prefer this to any of the other well known brand names out there. But if the only thing wrong with your dog is that it is prone to diarreah and you only feed it kibble,my advice would be to include some meat in its meals – you’ll notice the difference within a few days.
  12. AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

    on December 10, 2017 at 11:37 pm -

    This review is from : Almo Nature Dog Food Holistic Medium with Salmon and Rice 12 Kg

    Our jack russell cross loves it, but not more than his old bakers complete. Yes this has much more protein in it which i’m sure justifies the cost but i haven’t seen any difference in his general condition or what comes out the other end.
  13. AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

    on December 11, 2017 at 7:38 pm -

    This review is from : Almo Nature Dog Food Holistic Medium with Salmon and Rice 12 Kg

    Our jack russell cross loves it, but not more than his old bakers complete. Yes this has much more protein in it which i’m sure justifies the cost but i haven’t seen any difference in his general condition or what comes out the other end.
    • AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

      on December 13, 2017 at 6:31 pm -

      Yes, it might very well contain everything a dog needs but it comes at a cost, not that stan, the recipient of this cared. He liked it, as did one of his friends. There’s a decent meat content but the one thing missing was a re-sealable bag. For such a big quantity of food, unless you have somewhere to empty the contents, it’s going to remain open to the air, though i don’t know what effect that may have over a period of time – dry out, perhaps?.
  14. AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

    on December 15, 2017 at 5:30 am -

    This review is from : Almo Nature Dog Food Holistic Medium with Salmon and Rice 12 Kg

    Yes, it might very well contain everything a dog needs but it comes at a cost, not that stan, the recipient of this cared. He liked it, as did one of his friends. There’s a decent meat content but the one thing missing was a re-sealable bag. For such a big quantity of food, unless you have somewhere to empty the contents, it’s going to remain open to the air, though i don’t know what effect that may have over a period of time – dry out, perhaps?.
  15. AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

    on December 16, 2017 at 10:28 pm -

    This review is from : Almo Nature Dog Food Holistic Medium with Salmon and Rice 12 Kg

    Nice dog, the dogs like it. . I have two dogs that eat this food they are 3 and 9 years old. They both like the food and nothing is left. The dog food is small in size, and not smelly, the quality is very good for the price bracket this is in. The dogs have reacted well to this food and i will consider buying this product again, pleased with the result.
  16. AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

    on December 18, 2017 at 9:19 pm -

    This review is from : Almo Nature Dog Food Holistic Medium with Salmon and Rice 12 Kg

    Nice dog, the dogs like it. . I have two dogs that eat this food they are 3 and 9 years old. They both like the food and nothing is left. The dog food is small in size, and not smelly, the quality is very good for the price bracket this is in. The dogs have reacted well to this food and i will consider buying this product again, pleased with the result.
    • AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

      on December 20, 2017 at 11:13 pm -

      Keeps our dog happy and fed, doesn’t stink the house out either. We’ve been trying various dog foods to try and deal with our westie’s allergies and he finds this quite agreeable. ·the bag is huge and does not have a zip-loc or similar closure so make sure you have a bin to empty in into or a clip to reseal it else it could dry out. ·unlike some dog food there is no smell of rancid gravy. ·the dog food stays together and does not disintegrate into powder so is easy to handle.
  17. AUTHORStyle: Chicken and Rice What's this?

    on December 21, 2017 at 10:33 pm -

    This review is from : Almo Nature Dog Food Holistic Medium with Salmon and Rice 12 Kg

    Keeps our dog happy and fed, doesn’t stink the house out either. We’ve been trying various dog foods to try and deal with our westie’s allergies and he finds this quite agreeable. ·the bag is huge and does not have a zip-loc or similar closure so make sure you have a bin to empty in into or a clip to reseal it else it could dry out. ·unlike some dog food there is no smell of rancid gravy. ·the dog food stays together and does not disintegrate into powder so is easy to handle.