ANF Dog Food Holistic Adult 3kg : Good going in and coming out

Really good quality dog food at an exceptional price. We are really impressed with the anf range of food, which offers such quality ingredients at realistic prices. This canine holistic is no different. Wheat free, it contains a good mix of protein from chicken (29%) and carbs from rice and oats, with added vitamins and minerals and other goodies such as seaweed extract. Our pooch is doing well on it, and shows no problem with accepting the new food mixed into his existing food. No digestive changes either, and he seems as happy and contented as ever. We’ve also tried the chicken and rice adult food and are happy with both. As are the cats, who again delight in pinching the dogs biscuits whenever they saunter pasti’d not hesitate in recommending the anf range f dog food. It really rivals the priciest brands for quality, but at about half the price.

I’ve always been uneasy about feeding my dog products containing wheat, as it is quite hard to digest. I know that *i* don’t feel great when i eat lots of pasta or bread – so why risk my dog feeling a bit ‘ruff’ either?. This product contains no wheat – using rice and oats instead, which is a much healthier more digestible alternative i think, especially if eaten everyday. It also contains other healthy ingredients like linseed and fish oil for omega 3s, vitamins and probiotics. Also my lurcher loved it – and she is quite picky and rarely eats all her food. I think it smells quite tasty too. I definitely feel happy giving her this food – as you cant get much better.

I’ve always been uneasy about feeding my dog products containing wheat, as it is quite hard to digest. I know that *i* don’t feel great when i eat lots of pasta or bread – so why risk my dog feeling a bit ‘ruff’ either?. This product contains no wheat – using rice and oats instead, which is a much healthier more digestible alternative i think, especially if eaten everyday. It also contains other healthy ingredients like linseed and fish oil for omega 3s, vitamins and probiotics. Also my lurcher loved it – and she is quite picky and rarely eats all her food. I think it smells quite tasty too. I definitely feel happy giving her this food – as you cant get much better.

I think this is really nice dog food; the price is reasonable / comparable to other dog foods of the same quality, it has a high meat content, and the dogs like it.

Dogs don’t need stupid outfits, daft names and those idiotic carry bags. However they do need decent grub. A well fed dog is a happy dog. An even happier dog gets to nick the comfiest chair. This dog food is of great quality, mainly because it is full of good quality protein and not packed with the usual crud that cheaper manufacturers use. This type has real fresh chicken meat and smells rather nice. Mr picky lurcher has signified his appreciation of this food choice by licking his bowl clean. He seems to really enjoy this grub. Plus i have the piece of mind that he is getting a balanced and quality food with all the nutrients that a spoilt pampered dog requires.

Reviews from purchasers :

  • Fantastic, good aroma, rescue dog loves it.
  • Good going in and coming out
  • Really good quality dog food at an exceptional price

So this is not breed specific food. I’m not sure if that is a good thing or a bad thing. The kibble is round and flat (like revels but smaller) and goes down well with my two elderly westies, they are enjoying handfuls of this at a time & although they is some smell, it is tolerable. The packaging comes with a resealable strip, which is a nice touch as if you have one small dog then this 3kg could last you a month. There are guidelines on the back for how many g to give per day depending on the size of your dog although for the largest do the instruction is slightly confusing (45+kg dog = 445g/day + 6g/kg) for smaller dogs it makes more sense. I will update this review with any longer term effects when we get to the end of the packet.

I have given this product 3 stars because my dogs like it. More importantly my dogs (three westies) will eat it and they are very fussy. I gave them a bowl to try and they would not eat it. No surprises there, as they like a mix of dry and tinned dog food mixed together. So, as soon as i mixed in the tinned dog food i was very quickly eaten. I like the fact that you can reseal the bag to keep the contents fresh. It is full of good things including chicken, oats, seaweed and eggs. This dog food also contains probiotics that are live bacteria and yeasts promoted as having various health benefits, including preventing and treating a range of conditions.

One Comment

  1. AUTHORSize: 3 Kg What's this?

    on December 24, 2017 at 11:52 am -

    Whilst the 5 stars say i love it it’s more the dog loves it. The less bulk you put in food and the more meat the better and this wins. Oscar downs the food quickly with and seems to last longer between meals. Does anyone know if this is normal?. The anf range seems to be something i need to look into more. But from the initial looks of it great product.
    • AUTHORSize: 3 Kg What's this?

      on December 26, 2017 at 12:08 am -

      Whilst the 5 stars say i love it it’s more the dog loves it. The less bulk you put in food and the more meat the better and this wins. Oscar downs the food quickly with and seems to last longer between meals. Does anyone know if this is normal?. The anf range seems to be something i need to look into more. But from the initial looks of it great product.
  2. AUTHORSize: 3 Kg What's this?

    on December 27, 2017 at 3:43 am -

    This review is from : ANF Dog Food Holistic Adult 3kg

    We usually give our dogs dry food topped with real meat, as it doesn’t smell as strongly as wet food, agrees with their stomachs, and supples all of the essential nutrients (and oils and healthy fats etc). But lately they seemed to be getting a bit bored by our usual brand of dry food and were just picking the meat out of their dishes, so now i’m continuing my search of a new favourite for them by trying different brands. I opted to try this one out on them as the dogs love chicken the most and canine holistic has real chicken, chicken liver gravy, chicken fat, ground rice, and fish oil in it. Whilst i can’t ask the dogs for their opinions on this brand in general or this particular flavour, they both shovel it down their throats as fast as i can pour it into their dishes, and oliver (our persian cat) sneaks his own mouthfuls when the dogs aren’t looking, so i’m going to call this a winner. There’s not much that i can add – the dogs, and their stomachs, and seem to love the taste and they seem fuller then they do with many other brands of dry food, plus their coats and teeth are looking great too. Finally, as i always say when reviewing heavy/bulky items; yay for amazon – not only does it cost less than it does in the shops, but the bulky & weighty packs are delivered straight to my door, so i don’t have to lug the heavy load home from a shop on the bus when someone is using the car.
    • AUTHORSize: 3 Kg What's this?

      on December 28, 2017 at 12:07 pm -

      We usually give our dogs dry food topped with real meat, as it doesn’t smell as strongly as wet food, agrees with their stomachs, and supples all of the essential nutrients (and oils and healthy fats etc). But lately they seemed to be getting a bit bored by our usual brand of dry food and were just picking the meat out of their dishes, so now i’m continuing my search of a new favourite for them by trying different brands. I opted to try this one out on them as the dogs love chicken the most and canine holistic has real chicken, chicken liver gravy, chicken fat, ground rice, and fish oil in it. Whilst i can’t ask the dogs for their opinions on this brand in general or this particular flavour, they both shovel it down their throats as fast as i can pour it into their dishes, and oliver (our persian cat) sneaks his own mouthfuls when the dogs aren’t looking, so i’m going to call this a winner. There’s not much that i can add – the dogs, and their stomachs, and seem to love the taste and they seem fuller then they do with many other brands of dry food, plus their coats and teeth are looking great too. Finally, as i always say when reviewing heavy/bulky items; yay for amazon – not only does it cost less than it does in the shops, but the bulky & weighty packs are delivered straight to my door, so i don’t have to lug the heavy load home from a shop on the bus when someone is using the car.
      • AUTHORSize: 3 Kg What's this?

        on December 29, 2017 at 7:50 pm -

        Good going in and coming out. Since our current dog is not a fussy eater it would have to be an extraordinary product which she refused to eat – so the fact that she scoffs this food down at a rate of knots isn’t any great test. However, the fact that this comes in very small pellets and is well balanced and wheat free are all pluses. She loves chicken so the combination with rice and oats is a very healthy mix. And (i realise this is too much information) there is also the other end test. And when she goes to the toilet for a number 2 the output is good and reasonably firm. So all in all it’s good stuff.
  3. AUTHORSize: 3 Kg What's this?

    on December 30, 2017 at 6:47 pm -

    Good going in and coming out. Since our current dog is not a fussy eater it would have to be an extraordinary product which she refused to eat – so the fact that she scoffs this food down at a rate of knots isn’t any great test. However, the fact that this comes in very small pellets and is well balanced and wheat free are all pluses. She loves chicken so the combination with rice and oats is a very healthy mix. And (i realise this is too much information) there is also the other end test. And when she goes to the toilet for a number 2 the output is good and reasonably firm. So all in all it’s good stuff.
  4. AUTHORSize: 3 Kg What's this?

    on December 31, 2017 at 11:44 pm -

    This review is from : ANF Dog Food Holistic Adult 3kg

    Recommended by two miniature poodles. I haven’t tried it myself but the dogs seemed keen on it. The ingredients list looks good. Our vet said to avoid any feed that contains the word “derivatives. ” there is no mention of derivatives here. So, it looks like this is a good quality feed. It may seem expensive, but (a) you may be able to buy larger bags at a discount, and (b) with quality feeds you generally use less of them per day.
  5. AUTHORSize: 3 Kg What's this?

    on January 2, 2018 at 11:28 pm -

    This review is from : ANF Dog Food Holistic Adult 3kg

    Recommended by two miniature poodles. I haven’t tried it myself but the dogs seemed keen on it. The ingredients list looks good. Our vet said to avoid any feed that contains the word “derivatives. ” there is no mention of derivatives here. So, it looks like this is a good quality feed. It may seem expensive, but (a) you may be able to buy larger bags at a discount, and (b) with quality feeds you generally use less of them per day.
  6. AUTHORSize: 3 Kg What's this?

    on January 4, 2018 at 1:36 am -

    This review is from : ANF Dog Food Holistic Adult 3kg

    Fantastic, good aroma, rescue dog loves it. . My rescue dog is a bit picky when it comes to kibble to complement her wet food and in standard supermarket brands she just leaves a pile of it at the bottom of the food bowl. This is the opposite, she finished it all, in record time as well. The size of the kibble is medium i’d say, it seems to go down easily even though i always soften it up with a bit of warm water due to a few damaged teeth in her early life. The smell is relatively pungent but not unpleasant like a lot of popular brands are, it smells actually quite fresh and i think this is a big factor as to why it goes down so well. Highly recommended, will purchase the larger amount when this runs out.
    • AUTHORSize: 3 Kg What's this?

      on January 4, 2018 at 1:13 pm -

      Fantastic, good aroma, rescue dog loves it. . My rescue dog is a bit picky when it comes to kibble to complement her wet food and in standard supermarket brands she just leaves a pile of it at the bottom of the food bowl. This is the opposite, she finished it all, in record time as well. The size of the kibble is medium i’d say, it seems to go down easily even though i always soften it up with a bit of warm water due to a few damaged teeth in her early life. The smell is relatively pungent but not unpleasant like a lot of popular brands are, it smells actually quite fresh and i think this is a big factor as to why it goes down so well. Highly recommended, will purchase the larger amount when this runs out.
  7. AUTHORSize: 3 Kg What's this?

    on January 6, 2018 at 4:05 am -

    This review is from : ANF Dog Food Holistic Adult 3kg

    Anf canine holistic adult, 3 kg. Got this food for my friends labrador dog, this dog is not a fussy eater. When we read the description and saw that the meal had positive ingredients and chicken we thought we would give try. On first serving, he had little sniff wagged his tail and began to empty the bowl – which is good sign. As another reviewer has mentioned, cody too loves anything containing, chicken – or just plain chicken, although you have to be careful with all those small bones. The food itself smells ok, and as said before it is bundled with good ingredients. So if cody is happy – we are happy as well.
    • AUTHORSize: 3 Kg What's this?

      on January 7, 2018 at 10:11 am -

      Anf canine holistic adult, 3 kg. Got this food for my friends labrador dog, this dog is not a fussy eater. When we read the description and saw that the meal had positive ingredients and chicken we thought we would give try. On first serving, he had little sniff wagged his tail and began to empty the bowl – which is good sign. As another reviewer has mentioned, cody too loves anything containing, chicken – or just plain chicken, although you have to be careful with all those small bones. The food itself smells ok, and as said before it is bundled with good ingredients. So if cody is happy – we are happy as well.
      • AUTHORSize: 3 Kg What's this?

        on January 9, 2018 at 5:37 am -

        Rather misleading to say i love it – it’s actually my cavalier king charles spaniel. Rather misleading to say i love it – it’s actually my cavalier king charles spaniel who loves it. He got excited even before i opened the bag, and had no hesitation in woofing down the bowl of food. I guess that means it’s pretty good because he can be a picky little dog – but he is quite passionate about chicken. It’s good to feel you are feeding decent food to your dog – we don’t eat junk food, so why should he – and it actually does smell quite nice.
  8. AUTHORSize: 3 Kg What's this?

    on January 11, 2018 at 5:42 am -

    This review is from : ANF Dog Food Holistic Adult 3kg

    Rather misleading to say i love it – it’s actually my cavalier king charles spaniel. Rather misleading to say i love it – it’s actually my cavalier king charles spaniel who loves it. He got excited even before i opened the bag, and had no hesitation in woofing down the bowl of food. I guess that means it’s pretty good because he can be a picky little dog – but he is quite passionate about chicken. It’s good to feel you are feeding decent food to your dog – we don’t eat junk food, so why should he – and it actually does smell quite nice.