BETA Adult : Poppy just gobbles it down

Misleading content description. I ordered this for my dog, who has allergies to certain meats but not chicken. Checking the ingredients on the package when it arrived it stated ‘4%chicken’ and ‘14% meat’ (unidentified). I could not take the chance on giving it to my dog as a result. They rather forget to point this out on product description, and why can they not identify the varieties in the 14%?. Makes me dubious about the quality. However, it was gratefully received by my neighbour, who has an elderly collie who is fussy about food, who has taken to this product. So, if content is not a problem, you might try this for your pet.

Yes, it could be our hound but at first he was reluctant to actually eat this. We think that its because he has grown used to his regular meal that he was a bit suspicious of this new to him offering. Normally he will eat anything and will even eat raw vegetables as in carrots, broccoli, brussels sprouts etc with no ill effects and in the last three years or so of doing so, has not keeled over and the vet says he is one of the best on his books, so not bad going in that respect although his card playing is not much to shout home about but he’s quite good at doing jigsaws. Back to the plot then: when we first put this out for him in his favourite bowl, the one marked ‘ready served wholesome postman’s leg’, he sniffed it, he put his nose in it and wandered off – i had the same feeling once when i ate or rather tried to in a restaurant that was into the ‘lean cuisine’ con that seemed to consist of a cabbage leaf with coloured smears of felt tip pen marks on the plate posing as ‘food’ – but its now taken a bit of time and judicial switching around from his regular and this and he seems to be eating it now but not as fast he usually wuffed his other ‘regular’ food down so hence the four stars but once again its down to the animal as in if he is not that 100% happy with it, then its a slow process to get him to change.

Looks good, tastes good and probably does them good. All my dogs (that’s 3) love this. The kibble is reasonably large (about half the size of a giant breed kibble such as royal canin) so provides them with plenty to crunch on. My dogs show no signs of digestive problems and their stools are good. Their energy levels remain high. Price wise this product is higher than the cheaper brands but costs less than some of the more expensive brands. And when i look at the contents and nutritional values the beta is on a par with the likes of the very top priced brands. So in my view is better value. At the end of the day if my dogs enjoy it, which they undoubtedly do, and it keeps them healthy then its ok by me.

Key specs for BETA Adult with Chicken, 15kg:

  • Contains chicory, a natural prebiotic, to help improve digestive health
  • Dual kibbles: two different sizes have been designed to encourage the dog to chew the food
  • The dual shape reduces tartar by 21% after 28 days**
  • With chicken as a good source of protein to promote muscle strength

Comments from buyers

“Top quality food – not suitable for small dogs., It’s probably tasty, Great for supporting good health in dogs”

To be honest, all dry foods look and smell pretty much equal to me but this one did actually smell really tasty. I don’t know how it differs from all the others but it smells quite a bit nicer and judging by how quickly the bowl was cleared i’d say it tastes pretty good too. The only downside is that it is sold in unsealable packaging so there’s a need to decant it all into an airtight container. It’s not alone in that regard and i find that most other dry food is the same package-wise but i just wish more high volume animal food came as standard with a means to seal the bag once opened. Bottom line is that it seems really tasty though.

Our cocker spaniels love it. We order all of our dog food online. We have tried royal canin and eukanuba. Normally we get a big cardboard box from the delivery company and we can leave it in the kitchen until we are ready to get rid of the packaging. However, when this bag arrived, we came home to discover the cardboard box had been chewed through and the paper bag of the beta dog food had been chewed through and our dogs had helped themselvesrationing it more sensibly, our dogs still eat it all up (although i do a 50:50 split between this and a ‘diet’ food for our older dog to prevent weight gain. Our younger six year old ate all beta though). The fact that the kibble comes in two sizes means that our dogs also chew the food much more thoroughly than they do the smaller kibble of other brands. The packaging alleges that this means that dogs experience less tartar. I can’t say that i have noticed any kind of discernible difference, but it certainly appears tasty enough.

Suits a fussy old rough collie. Our dog has always been fussy about his food. We weaned him off wet tinned food when we got him, as it never looked that healthy and doesn’t clean the teeth like dry food. Also you are paying for water in wet foodi shifted him from his current food to this without any problems. If he dislikes anything he will leave it, and needs some treat mixed in before he will eat it. However, with this, after circling around once, he tucked in. If you do find your dog fussy, but you find several foods he enjoys, i recommend cycling round between them, as i think they get bored if you buy a large bag of food and they get nothing but that for a month or so. Also, it is amazing how little ‘treat’ in the food can work wonders, eg, just a few flakes of parmesan.(though ours is resistant to tablets and will not touch anything with tablets in, whole, crumbled, embedded in cheese, wrapped with ham, whatever)i recommend this dry food, either as-is or with a small amount of water to soften it.

One Comment

  1. AUTHORFlavour Name: Chicken|Size: 15 kg Verified Purchase

    on November 2, 2017 at 1:25 pm -

    This review is from : BETA Adult with Chicken, 15kg

    It’s difficult to review a dog food but the dog loves it and wolf’s it down, so i take that as a good thing. Excellent to be able to get it delivered to the door too.
    • AUTHORFlavour Name: Chicken|Size: 15 kg Verified Purchase

      on November 3, 2017 at 11:02 am -

      It’s difficult to review a dog food but the dog loves it and wolf’s it down, so i take that as a good thing. Excellent to be able to get it delivered to the door too.
      • AUTHORFlavour Name: Chicken|Size: 3 kg What's this?

        on November 4, 2017 at 8:02 pm -

        Healthy shiny coat & more energy. When the dogs first had this food, there was a noticeable difference in the speed that they ate it. Much slower, as if they were enjoying a gourmet meal. After about four weeks of eating this food as a breakfast, our black haired dog has a much shinier coat (can’t tell on our white haired dog). The probiotic means they are ‘regular’. I would highly recommend this dried food for medium to large size dogs.
  2. AUTHORFlavour Name: Chicken|Size: 3 kg What's this?

    on November 6, 2017 at 10:56 pm -

    This review is from : BETA Adult with Chicken, 15kg

    Healthy shiny coat & more energy. When the dogs first had this food, there was a noticeable difference in the speed that they ate it. Much slower, as if they were enjoying a gourmet meal. After about four weeks of eating this food as a breakfast, our black haired dog has a much shinier coat (can’t tell on our white haired dog). The probiotic means they are ‘regular’. I would highly recommend this dried food for medium to large size dogs.
  3. AUTHORFlavour Name: Chicken|Size: 3 kg What's this?

    on November 8, 2017 at 12:28 pm -

    This review is from : BETA Adult with Chicken, 15kg

    Despite the appearance of my dashunds doo doos when he’s managed to get bones, the little guy loves it to absolute bits, more so than some of the more extravagant dried offerings i have tried him on. He actually pops them in as soon as i finish pouring. Barring the chewy meaty chunks some brands have, i have not see him do this, and truth be told, he had the habit of fishing out those chewy ones first. On this, his breath is nice and clean. His dinner bowl is empty by end of day. The 3 kg bag is an absolute rip off compared to the 15. The only reason why you may want a 3 kg bag is for ease of carry or a very tiny dog.
  4. AUTHORFlavour Name: Chicken|Size: 3 kg What's this?

    on November 10, 2017 at 5:16 pm -

    This review is from : BETA Adult with Chicken, 15kg

    Despite the appearance of my dashunds doo doos when he’s managed to get bones, the little guy loves it to absolute bits, more so than some of the more extravagant dried offerings i have tried him on. He actually pops them in as soon as i finish pouring. Barring the chewy meaty chunks some brands have, i have not see him do this, and truth be told, he had the habit of fishing out those chewy ones first. On this, his breath is nice and clean. His dinner bowl is empty by end of day. The 3 kg bag is an absolute rip off compared to the 15. The only reason why you may want a 3 kg bag is for ease of carry or a very tiny dog.
  5. AUTHORFlavour Name: Chicken|Size: 3 kg What's this?

    on November 12, 2017 at 2:55 pm -

    This review is from : BETA Adult with Chicken, 15kg

    Good dog food, better mixed with other biscuits. This beta adult dog food with chicken was good, and although it’s not the most expensive, has a higher meat content than the cheaper brands of food. I found that it works best mixed in with other biscuits, and in the sales spiel much is made of the presence of chicory in the mix, which apparently aids digestion (ie cuts down on wind). The dogs love it – we have a border collie and a bitsa – bits of lakeland terrier and jack russell, and they do like it a lot. We got a trial bag from amazon prime, and have subsequently bought more, so i can recommend it strongly.
  6. AUTHORFlavour Name: Chicken|Size: 3 kg What's this?

    on November 14, 2017 at 1:13 am -

    This review is from : BETA Adult with Chicken, 15kg

    Good dog food, better mixed with other biscuits. This beta adult dog food with chicken was good, and although it’s not the most expensive, has a higher meat content than the cheaper brands of food. I found that it works best mixed in with other biscuits, and in the sales spiel much is made of the presence of chicory in the mix, which apparently aids digestion (ie cuts down on wind). The dogs love it – we have a border collie and a bitsa – bits of lakeland terrier and jack russell, and they do like it a lot. We got a trial bag from amazon prime, and have subsequently bought more, so i can recommend it strongly.
  7. AUTHORFlavour Name: Chicken|Size: 3 kg What's this?

    on November 15, 2017 at 2:48 am -

    This review is from : BETA Adult with Chicken, 15kg

    They like it, they like it not, they like it. I have come to the conclusion that i should be writing a review about the pooches rather than the food. One moment beta was flavour of the week (start review), then i get a look as if i am trying to poison them (change review), then one decides she does like it after all. I was about to hand the review across to both hounds to complete but they are rubbish at typing (they can scarcely master their ipads). No complaints as such, at least nothing in writing from either, but as with so many foods, they are spoilt something rotten and would probably turn up their nose at fillet steak if it was served twice in a row. Overall, a good change but variety is the spice of life and we will be using beta on a rotating basis.
    • AUTHORFlavour Name: Chicken|Size: 3 kg What's this?

      on November 16, 2017 at 4:30 am -

      They like it, they like it not, they like it. I have come to the conclusion that i should be writing a review about the pooches rather than the food. One moment beta was flavour of the week (start review), then i get a look as if i am trying to poison them (change review), then one decides she does like it after all. I was about to hand the review across to both hounds to complete but they are rubbish at typing (they can scarcely master their ipads). No complaints as such, at least nothing in writing from either, but as with so many foods, they are spoilt something rotten and would probably turn up their nose at fillet steak if it was served twice in a row. Overall, a good change but variety is the spice of life and we will be using beta on a rotating basis.
  8. AUTHORFlavour Name: Chicken|Size: 15 kg Verified Purchase

    on November 16, 2017 at 6:45 pm -

    This review is from : BETA Adult with Chicken, 15kg

    My dog badger loves this food ,his energy is boundless excuse the pun his coat is so shiny and he is so fit.
    • AUTHORFlavour Name: Chicken|Size: 15 kg Verified Purchase

      on November 17, 2017 at 6:54 am -

      My dog badger loves this food ,his energy is boundless excuse the pun his coat is so shiny and he is so fit.
  9. AUTHORFlavour Name: Chicken|Size: 3 kg What's this?

    on November 18, 2017 at 9:04 pm -

    This review is from : BETA Adult with Chicken, 15kg

    A whole load of claims which inspire. Given that we like to try & give her the best food we can afford. This is marketed as good for a dogs digestive health. I can’t really comment on that as i don’t think our dog has any problems in that department anyway. She’s just finished the bag and is as vibrant & bouncy as ever. This is for adult dogs so don’t give it to a puppy. It’s a bit more pricey than what we usually buy but is it deals with potential digestive problems – and we all know what that could mean – then it’s worth it for the price in my oppinion. Purely based on how much my dog seemed to enjoy it, i will definately buy this again.
    • AUTHORFlavour Name: Chicken|Size: 3 kg What's this?

      on November 19, 2017 at 11:40 am -

      A whole load of claims which inspire. Given that we like to try & give her the best food we can afford. This is marketed as good for a dogs digestive health. I can’t really comment on that as i don’t think our dog has any problems in that department anyway. She’s just finished the bag and is as vibrant & bouncy as ever. This is for adult dogs so don’t give it to a puppy. It’s a bit more pricey than what we usually buy but is it deals with potential digestive problems – and we all know what that could mean – then it’s worth it for the price in my oppinion. Purely based on how much my dog seemed to enjoy it, i will definately buy this again.
      • AUTHORFlavour Name: Chicken|Size: 3 kg What's this?

        on November 20, 2017 at 10:05 pm -

        My dog absolutely woofed this down (excuse the pun) which is always a sign it is good stuff. This is purina which is obviously vet recommended and endorsed and hence it isn’t the cheapest food out there but also work out the per portion cost before looking elsewhere at cheaper tins etc. This has a good best before date and is cheaper on amazon than from a shop and therefore strongly recommended.
  10. AUTHORFlavour Name: Chicken|Size: 3 kg What's this?

    on November 22, 2017 at 1:19 pm -

    My dog absolutely woofed this down (excuse the pun) which is always a sign it is good stuff. This is purina which is obviously vet recommended and endorsed and hence it isn’t the cheapest food out there but also work out the per portion cost before looking elsewhere at cheaper tins etc. This has a good best before date and is cheaper on amazon than from a shop and therefore strongly recommended.
  11. AUTHORFlavour Name: Chicken|Size: 3 kg What's this?

    on November 24, 2017 at 6:34 am -

    This review is from : BETA Adult with Chicken, 15kg

    I have two dogs and we have been feeding this to the younger dog who loves it, the older dog likes to eat this food given the opportunity, the pellet size is pretty good and there is no fuss to om the dog when consuming this, longer term effects are promising and i am quite happy to continue using this food, and i trust the brand, recommended.
    • AUTHORFlavour Name: Chicken|Size: 3 kg What's this?

      on November 25, 2017 at 6:08 pm -

      I have two dogs and we have been feeding this to the younger dog who loves it, the older dog likes to eat this food given the opportunity, the pellet size is pretty good and there is no fuss to om the dog when consuming this, longer term effects are promising and i am quite happy to continue using this food, and i trust the brand, recommended.