ESSENTIAL FOODS Essential Foods Dog Food Estate Living 12 : Quality ingredients

My two jack russells took great interest in the box that this was delivered in, and even more so when i opened it up. They seem to really like the food, which does smell nice and has none of the garish colours some other dog foods have, which is good news as one of my dogs has sensitive skin which reacts badly to colourings in dog food. They chomped their breakfast down super fast and did not leave a crumb, tails wagging as they ate, so it is a thumbs up from them. It is expensive though and whilst i may be prepared to pay that kind of money if i were a breeder or showed them, i do not think this will be a regular food in my house just based on cost – i think the quality of the food probably makes it more expensive, but i have knocked a star off for price. Looks good, smells good and the dogs loved it.

High quality food enjoyed by the dog. This went down very well with my neighbours dog who i help look after quite often. Truth be told he is something of a surrogate pet for me and i enjoy taking him out and looking after him for occassional weekends. I knew i was on fairly safe ground as the dog in question eats similar dry food already and i ran through the amazon page for this food with my neighbour and asked if she wanted to try it out. She was more than happy given she said her dog will eat pretty much anything and has no history of upset stomachs. She even said that if the quality matched the price it might be a struggle getting him back on the cheaper food that she usually gets. Food was introduced gradually as the makers suggest, even though he already eats dry food. We didn’t want to take risks as whilst his normal food is also dry the makeup of this food is quite different to his usual. Food ingredients suggest this should be a good quality food, and on opening the pack it certainly was rich and meaty in smell. The dog was extremely interested from the word go and literally dived at the bowl as soon as it was on the floor.

We have a mis-matched pair of dogs – a 30kg staffie and a 5kg miniature jack russell. They both scoffed this up – although, to be fair, they will eat just about anything. They would certainly eat each other’s food so its good for us that this isn’t too specialised and targetted at small dogs or large dogs. On the practical side, this food comes in regular pellets that are the shape and size of slightly fat chocolate buttons. It is not smelly and it is solid. If you handle it you don’t get any bits on you. Whether it is worth the premium price depends on whether you believe the manufacturers claims about the ingredients and their effect. I happen to believe that they do put in the fresh deer, free-range lamb, eggs and all the other stuff as they claim (it would certainly explain the cost). I’m not qualified to know whether the scientific claims are accurate, but it certainly sounds plausible that using fresh ingredients will be more nutritional than bulking pet food up with the cheapest cereal you can find.

Key specs for Essential Foods Dog Food Estate Living 12.5 kg:

  • A truely unique grain free adult food for all dog above 5kg
  • 40% FRESH Fallow Dear, Welsh free-range Lamb & eggs! Fresh Lamb/Deer is the optimum choice for dogs with allergy or digestible issues
  • The INSTANT solution for allergy related problems. (Itching, ears, eyes and paw irritations etc.)
  • Made according to the BOF principle – ensuring stable blood sugar levels for your adult dog through out the day
  • Attractively priced for a food of this kind of uncompromising “in all aspects” quality

Comments from buyers

“A Big Golden Retriever Paws Up!, If the dog could talk she would recommend this food :), GOOD QUALITY NATURAL DOG FOOD WITH PLENTY OF MEAT.”

My dog’s coat is so soft now :).

A big golden retriever paws up. My golden retriever has expensive tastes in dog food. She is currently on the eukanuba sensitive digestion with dentaguard, and is managing quite happily on that. She has been known to get a poorly tummy from eating certain brands of dog food, so i have to be careful what she eats. Having seen the quality of the ingredients listed for the estate living dog food, i decided to let her have a try of this, in the hopes that we might be able to give her more variety in her diet. Listed in the ingredients are british lamb, venison, and chicken, and a whole variety of herbs and vegetables to mimic the diet a predatory dog would gain from eating an animal, including the contents of its herbivorous stomach. The theory behind this, is that the food is as close as possible to nature and is optimized for your dogs health. Upon first appearance the food looks to be of quite a high quality. It smells fresher than your standard bag of dry food does, and the pieces appear to be of a good size and shape to encourage your dog to chew properly – which is infinitely better for keeping plaques levels low on their teeth. My dog seemed pleasantly surprised by the new dog food, and happily got stuck in within minutes of it being poured into her bowl.

It would appear that this is for all dogs from miniatures to great danes. I would see this as being an. The first thing i noticed about this dog food was the packaging. The front of the bag carries no information other than the name of the product. There is no indication as to whether the product is for young or old dogs, large or small. There is no specialisation such as breed or hip and bone recipe. It would appear that this is for all dogs from miniatures to great danes. I would see this as being an issue if sold in a store because nearly every other product carries this information. On the rear of the bag, i would expect to find information about quantities, usually a table tells you how much feed you should give a dog of a particular weight and with a further increment for working dogs. On this bag of food, i initially though there was no chart because the weight of the bag obscures it, it is right at the bottom of the rear panel.

One Comment

  1. AUTHORWhat's this?

    on December 26, 2017 at 2:37 pm -

    Well, this certainly isn’t your everyday dog food. The packaging tells us that it contains such exotic ingredients as acai berries, seaweed and alfalfa, as well as two types of deer meat. Quite how necessary all of those things are to a dog’s diet is open to question, but what is certain is that they are an improvement over the cheap bulking ingredients and high wheat levels in most dry dog foods. Well, our lakeland terrier wolfed it down, but then that’s hardly surprising, there is very little that she will not eat. After a couple of weeks on the stuff, she certainly appears healthy and lively, although that is my subjective assessment based on just one dog. It’s hard to say whether this is worth the money, but i can say with some certainty that you could do a lot worse.
    • AUTHORWhat's this?

      on December 27, 2017 at 8:59 pm -

      Well, this certainly isn’t your everyday dog food. The packaging tells us that it contains such exotic ingredients as acai berries, seaweed and alfalfa, as well as two types of deer meat. Quite how necessary all of those things are to a dog’s diet is open to question, but what is certain is that they are an improvement over the cheap bulking ingredients and high wheat levels in most dry dog foods. Well, our lakeland terrier wolfed it down, but then that’s hardly surprising, there is very little that she will not eat. After a couple of weeks on the stuff, she certainly appears healthy and lively, although that is my subjective assessment based on just one dog. It’s hard to say whether this is worth the money, but i can say with some certainty that you could do a lot worse.
  2. AUTHORWhat's this?

    on December 29, 2017 at 5:06 pm -

    Good quality natural dog food with plenty of meat. . Estate living dog food by essential foods. These days it feels like it is becoming a rarity to find a dry dog food that is not bulked out or “supplemented” with maize, cereal or rice. Some say it keeps the cost reasonable and adds certain nutrients to aid the dogs development. We used to feed our dogs on meat and biscuit. It was the norm and they thrived. Then came the big 12 or 15 kilo bags of dried food which was proclaimed to contain everything a dog needed and was convenient to use. Some kennels we knew used it and added their own meat and tripe to supplement it. Over time these “all in one” foods have become the norm and virtually all you will find in your pet food suppliers shop. With some you were never sure what they contained and others had such long lists of minerals and added “beneficial” elements you wondered just where the food was. Even the big players now deal in dry food and claim to make a different mixture for virtually every breed. Mostly the dogs eat it and don’t complain. Hardly surprising if they are not offered anything else. We have won some makes of the newer dried dog foods at dog shows.
    • AUTHORWhat's this?

      on December 30, 2017 at 6:04 pm -

      Good quality natural dog food with plenty of meat. . Estate living dog food by essential foods. These days it feels like it is becoming a rarity to find a dry dog food that is not bulked out or “supplemented” with maize, cereal or rice. Some say it keeps the cost reasonable and adds certain nutrients to aid the dogs development. We used to feed our dogs on meat and biscuit. It was the norm and they thrived. Then came the big 12 or 15 kilo bags of dried food which was proclaimed to contain everything a dog needed and was convenient to use. Some kennels we knew used it and added their own meat and tripe to supplement it. Over time these “all in one” foods have become the norm and virtually all you will find in your pet food suppliers shop. With some you were never sure what they contained and others had such long lists of minerals and added “beneficial” elements you wondered just where the food was. Even the big players now deal in dry food and claim to make a different mixture for virtually every breed. Mostly the dogs eat it and don’t complain. Hardly surprising if they are not offered anything else. We have won some makes of the newer dried dog foods at dog shows.
      • AUTHORWhat's this?

        on January 1, 2018 at 8:30 pm -

        This dry food is clean and easy to handle. This dry food is clean and easy to handle, and comes in the form of uniform discs, so it’s easy to gauge the right amount to feed. The smell is very attractive to dogs, and mine couldn’t wait to try the food when i opened the bag. He also really enjoyed the taste, and i would have liked to switch him to this completely. However, although he enjoyed the crunchy texture initially, i found that he wasn’t prepared to put up with this for an entire meal – his normal dry food is chewy, but not crunchy. As a result, he has a mixture of the two foods, which he evidently enjoys, and this does give him a bit more variety than before.
  3. AUTHORWhat's this?

    on January 3, 2018 at 1:51 am -

    This review is from : Essential Foods Dog Food Estate Living 12.5 kg

    This dry food is clean and easy to handle. This dry food is clean and easy to handle, and comes in the form of uniform discs, so it’s easy to gauge the right amount to feed. The smell is very attractive to dogs, and mine couldn’t wait to try the food when i opened the bag. He also really enjoyed the taste, and i would have liked to switch him to this completely. However, although he enjoyed the crunchy texture initially, i found that he wasn’t prepared to put up with this for an entire meal – his normal dry food is chewy, but not crunchy. As a result, he has a mixture of the two foods, which he evidently enjoys, and this does give him a bit more variety than before.
  4. AUTHORWhat's this?

    on January 5, 2018 at 4:51 am -

    This review is from : Essential Foods Dog Food Estate Living 12.5 kg

    Top quality and popular with canine friends. This is really good quality dog food – they even smell it through the bag and get super excited. The ingredients look really top quality. It’s a dry food so much less messy and less smelly than wet. And there is no waste at all. The only thing is that it is a little on the pricey side so i’m not sure it would be a regular purchase.
  5. AUTHORWhat's this?

    on January 7, 2018 at 7:11 am -

    This review is from : Essential Foods Dog Food Estate Living 12.5 kg

    Top quality and popular with canine friends. This is really good quality dog food – they even smell it through the bag and get super excited. The ingredients look really top quality. It’s a dry food so much less messy and less smelly than wet. And there is no waste at all. The only thing is that it is a little on the pricey side so i’m not sure it would be a regular purchase.
  6. AUTHORWhat's this?

    on January 8, 2018 at 7:24 am -

    This review is from : Essential Foods Dog Food Estate Living 12.5 kg

    If the dog could talk she would recommend this food :). As soon as this was delivered the dog was sniffing the cardboard box it was packaged in, as i opened the box and got the bag out she was very interested indeed and she was very excited as we opened up the bag. Our dog can be a very fussy eater indeed, especially with new things, so i wasn’t expecting her to be that interested once the food was in her bowl. This is really unusual, she’s normally a grazer and sometimes has to be tempted into eating her food with adding things in like tuna. The composition of this food is excellent and it’s much better quality than the standard with a very long list of ingredients: acai berries, alfalfa, apples, blueberries, carrots, cauliflower, chicken, cranberries, eggs, ginger, ginseng, green tea, lamb, linseed, marigold, mulberries, oranges, pears, peas, potatoes, probiotics, rosemary, seaweed, spinach, sweet potatoes, tomatoes, red & fallow deer and vitamins/minerals. The crude protein content is high at 30% (compared to our current cheaper food which is about 18%). She absolutely loves this food and we want to switch from the other food we’ve been using. The only downside is that this food is rather expensive and twice the price of the current food. However, we can clearly see the difference and from the dog’s point of view she thoroughly enjoys eating this food compared to what we have been giving her.
  7. AUTHORWhat's this?

    on January 10, 2018 at 1:56 pm -

    This review is from : Essential Foods Dog Food Estate Living 12.5 kg

    If the dog could talk she would recommend this food :). As soon as this was delivered the dog was sniffing the cardboard box it was packaged in, as i opened the box and got the bag out she was very interested indeed and she was very excited as we opened up the bag. Our dog can be a very fussy eater indeed, especially with new things, so i wasn’t expecting her to be that interested once the food was in her bowl. This is really unusual, she’s normally a grazer and sometimes has to be tempted into eating her food with adding things in like tuna. The composition of this food is excellent and it’s much better quality than the standard with a very long list of ingredients: acai berries, alfalfa, apples, blueberries, carrots, cauliflower, chicken, cranberries, eggs, ginger, ginseng, green tea, lamb, linseed, marigold, mulberries, oranges, pears, peas, potatoes, probiotics, rosemary, seaweed, spinach, sweet potatoes, tomatoes, red & fallow deer and vitamins/minerals. The crude protein content is high at 30% (compared to our current cheaper food which is about 18%). She absolutely loves this food and we want to switch from the other food we’ve been using. The only downside is that this food is rather expensive and twice the price of the current food. However, we can clearly see the difference and from the dog’s point of view she thoroughly enjoys eating this food compared to what we have been giving her.