PRO PLAN DOG Purina Pro Plan All Sizes Adult Light Or Sterilised : A great dry dog food from a brand you can trust

Perfect size kibble for most dogs. I have 3 french bulldogs and 2 bulldogs that ive been feeding this food too.Perfect size kibble for most dogs. But if you have a tiny dog then you might have to mix it with a tasty mince or liver treat. I have bought another bag of this. And by what i can read up on it, they say it will help to keep them trim. As bulldogs gain weight due to them loving their food i feel this might be the food for us in the kennel.

The purina pro plan with optiweight is designed for use with dogs of all ages and sizes, particularly those which have been sterilised. This is because sterilised dogs are statistically more likely to carry extra weight, and this can impact upon their long-term health. My golden retriever has always been quite slimline – we have always been encouraged to feed her up as much as possible to maintain or increase her weight. Sadly, at the age of nearly twelve, she has started to succumb to gradual weight increase. Whilst she is still nowhere near being overweight, we do not want the trend to continue unchecked. So, we were very happy to try this dog food, that seems to have been made specifically to help you keep an eye on your dog’s weight. That aside, our dog still greatly enjoyed trying this new food, which is good, because her happiness is also important. She literally wolfed it down in one go, whereas she often leaves food in her dish and snacks on it gradually throughout the day. Ingredients wise, it seems to have really standard constituent parts – of note the list seems very similar throughout the whole range.

Good quality dog food that helps to maintain a healthy weight. . Purina pro plan medium adult optiweight with chicken (3kg) is a well balanced dry food for all sized dogs and can be fed through any stage of your dog’s life. It is easily digested so this dry dog food can also be fed to dogs with sensitive digestions, it is specially formulated for dogs with weight issues. This dog food has ingredients that maintain lean body mass during weight loss and after sterilisation. After i opened the packet of purina pro plan, i immediately noticed a not unpleasant yet fairly strong smell (sort of a cross between roast chicken and a beef oxo cube). The kibbles are brown, medium sized, semi hard and pillow shaped. When our dog was younger she was an extremely fussy eater, now she is older this is not the case. She will eat most dry dog foods as long as it has a reasonable smell and taste. However, our dog may like any food but unfortunately not every food likes her, nor us which is more to the point as she often suffers with terrible very ‘smelly’ wind. I measured out 200g of food and poured it into her bowl and then called ‘mali’ who when she realised it was dinner time came in running.

Key specs for Purina Pro Plan All Sizes Adult Light Or Sterilised with Optiweight Dry Dog Food Rich in Chicken, 14 kg:

  • Contains high quality pieces of chicken
  • Helps maintain lean body mass during weight loss and after sterilisation
  • A combination of key nutrients that help to support healthy joints for your dog’s active lifestyle
  • Helps reduce the feeling of hunger through high protein content, complex carbohydrates and adequate fibre levels
  • Helps prevent future weight gain through lean body maintenance, encouraging calorie burning

Comments from buyers

“If you have a fat dog, this works!, quick delivery and exactly as advertised, Does what it says on the bag!!!”

Optiweight – for dogs looking to keep their weight down. The purina pro plan dog all sizes adult light or sterilised with optiweight rich in chicken dry food – comes in a 3kg bag. Here is what i thought:^^ first and foremost, my dogs loved it.^^ optiweight is designed for optimum long term health for a wide range of tastes and sizes. This one is for adults of all sizes and made from chicken, with the emphasis on weight loss. ^^ has all the specifically designed ingredients for dogs maintaining a lean body mass during weight loss and also after sterilisation. ^^ it does, however, include 27% protein. Not as high as puppy food, but fairly high for weight control. ^^ 3 kg is a decent quantity, especially when my pets really look like they are enjoying their food.

Does what it says on the bag. Speedy delivery excellent price job done.

If you have a fat dog, this works. It’s fine when your dog needs to lose weight, but still need to measure all his food into a feeding ball so he thinks he is getting more. Exercise and food reduction is all a dog needs, this allows me to give my little staffie 120g in the morning and 60g in the evening, all given in the treat ball.

One Comment

  1. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on November 2, 2017 at 6:03 pm -

    Competitive price for this, made more so with prime membership. Bought to provide smaller portions of food but maintaining nutritional content, as a means of maintaining correct weight of our cockapoo.
    • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

      on November 4, 2017 at 4:05 am -

      Competitive price for this, made more so with prime membership. Bought to provide smaller portions of food but maintaining nutritional content, as a means of maintaining correct weight of our cockapoo.
  2. AUTHORSize: 3kg Verified Purchase

    on November 6, 2017 at 12:27 am -

    This review is from : Purina Pro Plan All Sizes Adult Light Or Sterilised with Optiweight Dry Dog Food Rich in Chicken, 14 kg

    Our little dog loves these and it’s great to find a dry food she will eat.
  3. AUTHORSize: 3kg Verified Purchase

    on November 8, 2017 at 8:01 am -

    This review is from : Purina Pro Plan All Sizes Adult Light Or Sterilised with Optiweight Dry Dog Food Rich in Chicken, 14 kg

    Our little dog loves these and it’s great to find a dry food she will eat.
  4. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on November 10, 2017 at 3:58 pm -

    This review is from : Purina Pro Plan All Sizes Adult Light Or Sterilised with Optiweight Dry Dog Food Rich in Chicken, 14 kg

    Quick delivery and exactly as advertised. This was delivered on time and appears to be doing the job with my female boxer cross – looking very fit and healthy so far.
    • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

      on November 12, 2017 at 2:06 pm -

      Quick delivery and exactly as advertised. This was delivered on time and appears to be doing the job with my female boxer cross – looking very fit and healthy so far.
  5. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on November 13, 2017 at 6:46 am -

    This review is from : Purina Pro Plan All Sizes Adult Light Or Sterilised with Optiweight Dry Dog Food Rich in Chicken, 14 kg

    My dogs seem to be happy with it so im happy fast delivery.
  6. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on November 15, 2017 at 3:48 am -

    This review is from : Purina Pro Plan All Sizes Adult Light Or Sterilised with Optiweight Dry Dog Food Rich in Chicken, 14 kg

    My dogs seem to be happy with it so im happy fast delivery.
    • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

      on November 16, 2017 at 9:12 pm -

      Bought this as my dog (gsd) was putting on weight,after a month or 2 he was losing weight i would recommend this food for your dog.
  7. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on November 18, 2017 at 11:56 pm -

    This review is from : Purina Pro Plan All Sizes Adult Light Or Sterilised with Optiweight Dry Dog Food Rich in Chicken, 14 kg

    Bought this as my dog (gsd) was putting on weight,after a month or 2 he was losing weight i would recommend this food for your dog.
    • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

      on November 20, 2017 at 4:20 am -

      I have changed from royal cannin to that brand as it was recommend to me, they seem it like it just as much, clean bowls every time.
      • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

        on November 20, 2017 at 4:12 pm -

        I have changed from royal cannin to that brand as it was recommend to me, they seem it like it just as much, clean bowls every time.
  8. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on November 22, 2017 at 3:37 am -

    My dog seemed hungrier the next day. My dog ate this happily and without incident digestion wise but she did seem hungrier the next day , more than usual , but if your dog is overweight then its probably worth a try, maybe splitting it into 2 helpings per day might be better.
  9. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on November 24, 2017 at 2:35 am -

    This review is from : Purina Pro Plan All Sizes Adult Light Or Sterilised with Optiweight Dry Dog Food Rich in Chicken, 14 kg

    My dog seemed hungrier the next day. My dog ate this happily and without incident digestion wise but she did seem hungrier the next day , more than usual , but if your dog is overweight then its probably worth a try, maybe splitting it into 2 helpings per day might be better.
  10. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on November 26, 2017 at 8:11 am -

    This review is from : Purina Pro Plan All Sizes Adult Light Or Sterilised with Optiweight Dry Dog Food Rich in Chicken, 14 kg

    Great for sterilised dogs- would recommend. Very good quality ‘dry’ dog food with a decent meat content. Ideal for sterilised pooches with a very good mix of nutrients and balance of contents, which is important for such dogs as some can easily bang on the weight. Used regularly we find this line of feed is great for a dog’s on-going health. Bit pricey but when we use pro plan in particular, we find our dogs fill up quicker so you use less, which makes it more economical and you are guaranteed a good quality feed. We use a wide range of this ‘opti’ line of products and you get good sized food chunks for whatever dog size your particular type of pro plan is targeted at- it’s not too dry and smells pleasantly meaty- and for ease of use it comes in good, sturdy, resealable plastic bags. Never had any problems with purina dog food and this line is an excellent one. If your dog takes to it, you’re on a winner.
    • AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

      on November 28, 2017 at 8:06 am -

      Great for sterilised dogs- would recommend. Very good quality ‘dry’ dog food with a decent meat content. Ideal for sterilised pooches with a very good mix of nutrients and balance of contents, which is important for such dogs as some can easily bang on the weight. Used regularly we find this line of feed is great for a dog’s on-going health. Bit pricey but when we use pro plan in particular, we find our dogs fill up quicker so you use less, which makes it more economical and you are guaranteed a good quality feed. We use a wide range of this ‘opti’ line of products and you get good sized food chunks for whatever dog size your particular type of pro plan is targeted at- it’s not too dry and smells pleasantly meaty- and for ease of use it comes in good, sturdy, resealable plastic bags. Never had any problems with purina dog food and this line is an excellent one. If your dog takes to it, you’re on a winner.
      • AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

        on November 29, 2017 at 8:39 pm -

        You need to balance the quantity against how active your dog is. The beauty of the purina pro plan range is that they all come in chicken flavour and similar kibble size so in my experience there’s generally no difficulty in switching between different pro plan diets. Trig is fairly active so is currently burning off whatever he eats. The figures given for feeding don’t appear to take this into account. Because trig is so active the maintenance feeding regime would actually have him losing weight and this is what happened when he had it for four days compared to the same amount of the other pro plan foods he’s been eating; with the same level of activity. So i think this needs to be considered if you are going for weight loss and using the figures provided by purina; you may have to play about with the quantity until you are getting weight loss based on your dogs level of activity rather than just a blanket feeding figure. Well tolerated like all the pro plan foods, no waste and good sized kibble – not too large, not too small. You may need to titrate old food against new food if you’re introducing this and replacing a different manufacturer, however, if you’re already using a pro plan diet you should just be able to swap over without too much fuss.
  11. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on December 1, 2017 at 7:16 am -

    You need to balance the quantity against how active your dog is. The beauty of the purina pro plan range is that they all come in chicken flavour and similar kibble size so in my experience there’s generally no difficulty in switching between different pro plan diets. Trig is fairly active so is currently burning off whatever he eats. The figures given for feeding don’t appear to take this into account. Because trig is so active the maintenance feeding regime would actually have him losing weight and this is what happened when he had it for four days compared to the same amount of the other pro plan foods he’s been eating; with the same level of activity. So i think this needs to be considered if you are going for weight loss and using the figures provided by purina; you may have to play about with the quantity until you are getting weight loss based on your dogs level of activity rather than just a blanket feeding figure. Well tolerated like all the pro plan foods, no waste and good sized kibble – not too large, not too small. You may need to titrate old food against new food if you’re introducing this and replacing a different manufacturer, however, if you’re already using a pro plan diet you should just be able to swap over without too much fuss.