PRO PLAN DOG PURINA PRO PLAN Dog Large Adult Athletic : Happy Puppy Dog = Happy Owner

Previous to this, she has always been on dried foods, but for a number of years now i always have to mix just a little wet dog food in (just enough to coat the nuggets) so that she’d eat it. I don’t believe she’s fussy. Whilst i haven’t tried them myself, from the smell alone i feel quite safe in assuming that most dried foods are not delicious. Palatable maybe, but not delicious and flavoursome. Going on the fact that my dog will eat the purina pro plan without wet food i feel safe to assume it must very nice. In addition her coat looks very healthy and i think she’s shedding less. Naturally as we head towards towards winter this would be true anyway but there seems to be significantly less shed than usual for the time of year. Of course, this may have nothing to do with what she’s eating but it is the only thing we’ve changed in recent times.

The dog approves, obviously, as he ate his dinner containing this mixture, and left nothing behind. Although not an especially athletic breed of dog, he gets a good few hours of exercise a day, which he spends running around with his doggy pals, or in the nearby river, chasing ducks, or anything else that appears. I like to give him this all in one food, though i do supplement it with meat too. He ate the lot, with no complaints, so i cannot ask for more than that.

Complete dry food for athletic dogs over 25kg. Majority dehydrated poultry protein & grains, also soya & gluten. . I’ve trialled various purina foods with different dogs and dog-owners and so far they’ve all been received by the dogs with great relish. There have been no turned-up noses – and no upset tummies or runny bottoms. So, a winner with all the dogs and converts won among the owners. This particular food is no exception – happy dog, happy owner. Complete foods are a convenient way of giving your dog all the nutrients it needs for a heathy balanced diet (and also dry foods mean drier stools that are easier to pick up in a doggy waste bag). The pack contains a helpful feeding guide based on activity level as well as weight. The packaging is well-designed with a good-sized opening, a grab handle and a re-sealable top (to prevent the food going stale or smelling out the kitchen – though the food isn’t smelly) which is easy to use. Here are the specifications for the PRO PLAN DOG PURINA PRO PLAN Dog Large Adult Athletic:

  • Specially formulated for dental care
  • Specially formulated for large breed dogs with an athletic physique
  • A combination of key nutrients that help to support healthy joints for your dog’s active lifestyle
  • High nutrient absorption to fulfill your dog’s needs
  • Contains high-quality pieces of chicken; packaging may vary

Love this food for my mastiff who is now a. Love this food for my mastiff who is now a junior. It suits him where others just go through his system. Its a good size kibble for a large dog. When i feed it i add raw minced chicken or raw lamb mince. Ive bought this food loads of times and left many reviews on it as well. You can see my dog is a big fan. This food you only need the stated measured amount. You can get a measuring cup from purina or pets at home. Best food about and very good value for money.

Dog actually pauses to taste this. Golden labrador in question would eat the bin, let alone its contents, if he could get away with it. But in the meantime, this purina is going down a dream. He’s perhaps not quite old enough for this level of food – just over a year old — and he did initially have tummy trouble. It only lasted a couple of days, so we reduced the amount he had mixed in with his wet food, and the problems seemed to go away. The bits are large, too, so he does at least pause to crunch his food on its otherwise fast transit to his tail. I’d say this size sack would last 3 weeks – which at amazon prices is good value, but otherwise might work out expensive. Still, the dog loves it, there’s no waste, and his coat is looking extra fine right now.

Reviews from purchasers :

  • Great product, great price
  • The Dog looks well on this.
  • Yummee food for doggee

Review by maddie ( lab- collie cross) , aged 4i always look forward to my bowl being filled with food in the morning; it’s one of the highlights of my day. However, i was not impressed when i arrived at my bowls and found that my normal bakers complete was not there waiting for me. Maybe i’m a creature of habit but the change was not welcome. I looked at it, my master tried to encourage me, telling me it was good for me. I finished the bowl and, you know what ,it filled a hole but it didn’t float my stick in the way bakers complete does.

Excellent product, delivered on time.

One Comment

  1. AUTHORVerified Purchase

    on October 31, 2017 at 10:15 pm -

    This review is from : PURINA PRO PLAN Dog Large Adult Athletic with OPTIBALANCE Rich in Chicken Dry Food, 14 kg

    The dog looks well on this. . Keeps the dog fit and well with a lovely coat, teeth and no health problems.
    • AUTHORVerified Purchase

      on November 1, 2017 at 1:40 pm -

      The dog looks well on this. . Keeps the dog fit and well with a lovely coat, teeth and no health problems.
      • AUTHORVerified Purchase

        on November 3, 2017 at 1:43 pm -

        Bag is strong and waterproof and easily handled. . Dog loves it and that’s what matters. Bag is strong and waterproof and easily handled.
  2. AUTHORVerified Purchase

    on November 4, 2017 at 7:34 am -

    Bag is strong and waterproof and easily handled. . Dog loves it and that’s what matters. Bag is strong and waterproof and easily handled.
  3. AUTHORVerified Purchase

    on November 5, 2017 at 5:32 pm -

    This review is from : PURINA PRO PLAN Dog Large Adult Athletic with OPTIBALANCE Rich in Chicken Dry Food, 14 kg

    Great product, great price, delivered free. This is the way to buy dog food. No more hassle with parking and struggling with carrying the product to the car.
    • AUTHORVerified Purchase

      on November 7, 2017 at 2:14 am -

      Great product, great price, delivered free. This is the way to buy dog food. No more hassle with parking and struggling with carrying the product to the car.
  4. AUTHORVerified Purchase

    on November 8, 2017 at 12:46 am -

    This review is from : PURINA PRO PLAN Dog Large Adult Athletic with OPTIBALANCE Rich in Chicken Dry Food, 14 kg

    Doggee loves its food, and this one is the best, and a little plus, doogee doesnt fart with this one .
    • AUTHORVerified Purchase

      on November 10, 2017 at 5:05 am -

      Doggee loves its food, and this one is the best, and a little plus, doogee doesnt fart with this one .
  5. AUTHORWhat's this?

    on November 12, 2017 at 1:16 am -

    This review is from : PURINA PRO PLAN Dog Large Adult Athletic with OPTIBALANCE Rich in Chicken Dry Food, 14 kg

    Excellent product: went down really well. Excellent product: went down really well. Purina is a quality brand and a lot of thought has gone into ascertainning (a) the size of the dog (b) age and (c) breed. Our dog thought it very asty, so lots of thought has gone into the flavour. What you would expect for a premium priced brand.
  6. AUTHORWhat's this?

    on November 12, 2017 at 3:16 pm -

    This review is from : PURINA PRO PLAN Dog Large Adult Athletic with OPTIBALANCE Rich in Chicken Dry Food, 14 kg

    Excellent product: went down really well. Excellent product: went down really well. Purina is a quality brand and a lot of thought has gone into ascertainning (a) the size of the dog (b) age and (c) breed. Our dog thought it very asty, so lots of thought has gone into the flavour. What you would expect for a premium priced brand.
    • AUTHORWhat's this?

      on November 14, 2017 at 3:45 pm -

      This is a good quality dry food from purina. The kibbles are suitably sized for dogs to chew easily and the ingredients listed should ensure good health in the future. It is suitable as the main course or can also be used as a mixer. To maintain freshness the food should be transferred to an airtight container once opened as the sack is not resealable.
      • AUTHORWhat's this?

        on November 16, 2017 at 9:32 am -

        This is a good quality dry food from purina. The kibbles are suitably sized for dogs to chew easily and the ingredients listed should ensure good health in the future. It is suitable as the main course or can also be used as a mixer. To maintain freshness the food should be transferred to an airtight container once opened as the sack is not resealable.
  7. AUTHORWhat's this?

    on November 17, 2017 at 9:38 am -

    Can’t argue with the way my dog’s make this vanish so quickly. I am reviewing the purina pro plan dog large adult athletic with optihealth rich in chicken dry food – 14 kg. Here are my thoughts:^^ my dogs are both adult and therefore do need extra care with their diets as they are more sensitive to some things these days than they used to be, but none the less athletic. It is important to remember to always allow your dogs diet to change gradually, so their little (or in my dogs’ case – large) stomachs get used to the different food at a gentle pace. No drastic changes^^ it seems quite costly, however, i like to vary my dogs diet supplying kibble like this as a mixer with fresh food (home cooked and specially prepared) and some cans of wet meat, too. So i am happy this saves a little money using the food up this way, without scrimping on quality or ruining my dogs’ health. ^^ developed by purina vets and nutritionists, so a trusted brand i have heard of. ^^ supports long term health with carefully selected ingredients and vitamins, so if anything does this i am happy to help them by providing the tools for the trade. Overall:my dogs love this, and it’s just as well, since this is a massive bag. I am happy to provide this to my dogs knowing that the brand is a trusted and reliable company and of course, it’s a bonus when my dogs love it, since it is then money not wasted but indeed well spent.
  8. AUTHORWhat's this?

    on November 17, 2017 at 11:40 pm -

    This review is from : PURINA PRO PLAN Dog Large Adult Athletic with OPTIBALANCE Rich in Chicken Dry Food, 14 kg

    Can’t argue with the way my dog’s make this vanish so quickly. I am reviewing the purina pro plan dog large adult athletic with optihealth rich in chicken dry food – 14 kg. Here are my thoughts:^^ my dogs are both adult and therefore do need extra care with their diets as they are more sensitive to some things these days than they used to be, but none the less athletic. It is important to remember to always allow your dogs diet to change gradually, so their little (or in my dogs’ case – large) stomachs get used to the different food at a gentle pace. No drastic changes^^ it seems quite costly, however, i like to vary my dogs diet supplying kibble like this as a mixer with fresh food (home cooked and specially prepared) and some cans of wet meat, too. So i am happy this saves a little money using the food up this way, without scrimping on quality or ruining my dogs’ health. ^^ developed by purina vets and nutritionists, so a trusted brand i have heard of. ^^ supports long term health with carefully selected ingredients and vitamins, so if anything does this i am happy to help them by providing the tools for the trade. Overall:my dogs love this, and it’s just as well, since this is a massive bag. I am happy to provide this to my dogs knowing that the brand is a trusted and reliable company and of course, it’s a bonus when my dogs love it, since it is then money not wasted but indeed well spent.
  9. AUTHORWhat's this?

    on November 20, 2017 at 6:01 am -

    This review is from : PURINA PRO PLAN Dog Large Adult Athletic with OPTIBALANCE Rich in Chicken Dry Food, 14 kg

    Both my german shepherds love this food and thrive on it. . I was recently extremely pleased with another purina type of dog foot, namely the purina pro plan dog large adult robust with optihealth rich in chicken dry food. Both my large german shepherd dogs absolutely loved it and i intended to acquire a second bag. Unable to do so the option presented itself to try purina pro plan dog large adult athletic with optihealth rich in chicken dry food. The only visible difference that i personally noticed was the size of the chunks. The “robust” chunks being squarer in shape and the “athletic” chunks being of a trianguler shape. The consistency/colour/weight etc. Appeared to me to all be the same. Not surprisingly, my german shepherd dogs also responded to the “athletic” version in much the same way as they did to the “robust” version. They both dived in and didn’t stop till every morsel had been consumed, each licking his own bowl and then checking the bowl of the other.
  10. AUTHORWhat's this?

    on November 22, 2017 at 5:13 am -

    This review is from : PURINA PRO PLAN Dog Large Adult Athletic with OPTIBALANCE Rich in Chicken Dry Food, 14 kg

    Both my german shepherds love this food and thrive on it. . I was recently extremely pleased with another purina type of dog foot, namely the purina pro plan dog large adult robust with optihealth rich in chicken dry food. Both my large german shepherd dogs absolutely loved it and i intended to acquire a second bag. Unable to do so the option presented itself to try purina pro plan dog large adult athletic with optihealth rich in chicken dry food. The only visible difference that i personally noticed was the size of the chunks. The “robust” chunks being squarer in shape and the “athletic” chunks being of a trianguler shape. The consistency/colour/weight etc. Appeared to me to all be the same. Not surprisingly, my german shepherd dogs also responded to the “athletic” version in much the same way as they did to the “robust” version. They both dived in and didn’t stop till every morsel had been consumed, each licking his own bowl and then checking the bowl of the other.
  11. AUTHORWhat's this?

    on November 24, 2017 at 5:39 am -

    This review is from : PURINA PRO PLAN Dog Large Adult Athletic with OPTIBALANCE Rich in Chicken Dry Food, 14 kg

    Large kibble pieces – good if your dog loves big kibble. This food was liked by my dog. I say liked because sometimes i had to coax her. She is a gundog and i felt that even though she’s classed as a large adult dog, the kibble was still quite large for her. So with this food it’s definitely been something i’ve had to think about what i’m going to mix it with so that she doesn’t leave it. I think it’s hard sometimes to do a review for dog food though, because either your dog loves it or doesn’t.
  12. AUTHORWhat's this?

    on November 25, 2017 at 7:01 am -

    This review is from : PURINA PRO PLAN Dog Large Adult Athletic with OPTIBALANCE Rich in Chicken Dry Food, 14 kg

    Large kibble pieces – good if your dog loves big kibble. This food was liked by my dog. I say liked because sometimes i had to coax her. She is a gundog and i felt that even though she’s classed as a large adult dog, the kibble was still quite large for her. So with this food it’s definitely been something i’ve had to think about what i’m going to mix it with so that she doesn’t leave it. I think it’s hard sometimes to do a review for dog food though, because either your dog loves it or doesn’t.