PRO PLAN DOG Purina PRO PLAN Dog Medium Adult : Value for your money

As my dog has skin infection issues, (he’s a shar-pei) i was keen to try this food. It is a little early to say if it going to help, but i am working on the theory that it should do no harm. The fish-based ingredients should be good, as they are normally beneficial to dry skin, even in humans. So far, he has eaten it with no complaints, so i can only give it five stars, with his recommendation.

Got a wetsie and it seems to help his skin settle down.

So expensive for what you get. Ok, so the bottom line here is, the dog enjoys it. But the dog will eat just about anything, so that doesn’t mean too much. The price of this food, for the amount you receive, is quite ridiculous, and looking at the ingredients it is not obvious why either. For this price i would expect a far higher meat content and far fewer ‘filler’ ingredients. It just does not seem to be a high quality food as i expected. Sure, the packing is great and it is easy to dispense. But they seem to be the only positives here.

Key specs for Purina PRO PLAN Dog Medium Adult for Sensitive Skin with OPTIDERMA rich in Salmon Dry Food, 14kg:

  • Clinically proven to support healthy skin
  • Easy to digest
  • With a selected protein source clinically proven to help improve intestinal microflora balance fecal consistency it helps supports intestinal health
  • Supports healthy joints
  • Contains quality protein from salmon

Comments from buyers

“My dog has been eating this for years. He , Dogs best friend is his dinner, Value for your money”

All our dogs are really enjoying this food – especially rufus, our norfolk terrier, who is now refusing his usual kibble (he spits it out if you offer him a piece), and a new food we bought for him to try (and which he had been enjoying) in favour of this purina pro plan salmon. The food consists of medium-size, beige biscuity pieces with no strong scent, just a fresh, clean smell you expect from good-quality kibble. It is intended for dogs with sensitive skins and was bought to help poppy, who has a very sensitive skin and is on medication for it. Poppy is definitely eating it – i can’t say she woofs it down but she is a remarkably fussy dog and the fact that she’s eating a dry food of any kind means it must be good. Hard to say at the moment as she is on a course of tablets for her seasonal allergy that can’t be interrupted so blind testing isn’t possible until the autumn. We will have to see how she fares when she stops taking the tablets in october. Of all our dogs, it’s rufus, our norfolk terrier, who’s taken to this particular food so avidly. Rufus has no skin troubles but has a very sensitive tummy.

Hard to review dog food but here goes. . I put it in her bowl and she ate it. Seemed to enjoy it and its not upset her stomach. She (our 3 year old lurcher cross) does suffer from dry skin/dandruff on occasions and so far so good, its only been a few days but her coat is shiny and looks great. I don’t think there’s much between most dry food brands – but these are small and easily digested and i will buy again. I will aim to update this review after she’s been on this for a couple of weeks to report back on her coat.

So did my kennel sister sikka. So did my kennel sister sikka. I recommend it to all my canine cousin dogs and bitches.

One Comment

  1. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on October 22, 2017 at 8:25 am -

    Absolutely perfect due to the dogs need for adult sensitive food.
  2. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on October 23, 2017 at 11:15 am -

    This review is from : Purina PRO PLAN Dog Medium Adult for Sensitive Skin with OPTIDERMA rich in Salmon Dry Food, 14kg

    Absolutely perfect due to the dogs need for adult sensitive food.
  3. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on October 24, 2017 at 3:12 pm -

    This review is from : Purina PRO PLAN Dog Medium Adult for Sensitive Skin with OPTIDERMA rich in Salmon Dry Food, 14kg

    Good value for money and my labradooodle is doing well on it.
    • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

      on October 26, 2017 at 4:41 pm -

      Good value for money and my labradooodle is doing well on it.
  4. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on October 28, 2017 at 10:27 am -

    This review is from : Purina PRO PLAN Dog Medium Adult for Sensitive Skin with OPTIDERMA rich in Salmon Dry Food, 14kg

    Great product, my bulldog is on it since birth. And very good delivery service.
  5. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on October 29, 2017 at 2:37 am -

    This review is from : Purina PRO PLAN Dog Medium Adult for Sensitive Skin with OPTIDERMA rich in Salmon Dry Food, 14kg

    Great product, my bulldog is on it since birth. And very good delivery service.
  6. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on October 30, 2017 at 5:35 pm -

    This review is from : Purina PRO PLAN Dog Medium Adult for Sensitive Skin with OPTIDERMA rich in Salmon Dry Food, 14kg

    Good quality food that shows in our healthy shiny coated flatcoated retriever.
  7. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on November 1, 2017 at 5:19 am -

    This review is from : Purina PRO PLAN Dog Medium Adult for Sensitive Skin with OPTIDERMA rich in Salmon Dry Food, 14kg

    Good quality food that shows in our healthy shiny coated flatcoated retriever.
    • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

      on November 2, 2017 at 4:52 am -

      Arrived as requested and perfect for our two old english sheep dogs.
  8. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on November 3, 2017 at 4:35 am -

    This review is from : Purina PRO PLAN Dog Medium Adult for Sensitive Skin with OPTIDERMA rich in Salmon Dry Food, 14kg

    Arrived as requested and perfect for our two old english sheep dogs.
    • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

      on November 3, 2017 at 4:13 pm -

      Dogs best friend is his dinner. My dog has been eating this product for 2 years or so now, we walk 2 hrs most days and he is healthy and happy, gives the squirrels a chase, never caught one yet. Most times he eats it up so works for him.
      • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

        on November 4, 2017 at 2:49 pm -

        Dogs best friend is his dinner. My dog has been eating this product for 2 years or so now, we walk 2 hrs most days and he is healthy and happy, gives the squirrels a chase, never caught one yet. Most times he eats it up so works for him.
  9. AUTHORSize: 3kg Verified Purchase

    on November 5, 2017 at 5:05 am -

    This review is from : Purina PRO PLAN Dog Medium Adult for Sensitive Skin with OPTIDERMA rich in Salmon Dry Food, 14kg

    Great price would use again. Came on time , great price would use again.
  10. AUTHORSize: 3kg Verified Purchase

    on November 7, 2017 at 2:22 am -

    This review is from : Purina PRO PLAN Dog Medium Adult for Sensitive Skin with OPTIDERMA rich in Salmon Dry Food, 14kg

    Great price would use again. Came on time , great price would use again.
    • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

      on November 9, 2017 at 8:07 am -

      Border collies love food and the salmon helps keep their coats glossy. Other dog foods have given them upset tummies – but purina sensitive is ideal.
      • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

        on November 10, 2017 at 4:17 am -

        Border collies love food and the salmon helps keep their coats glossy. Other dog foods have given them upset tummies – but purina sensitive is ideal.
  11. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on November 10, 2017 at 8:58 pm -

    This review is from : Purina PRO PLAN Dog Medium Adult for Sensitive Skin with OPTIDERMA rich in Salmon Dry Food, 14kg

    Good price only wish it had been packaged differently. Good price only wish it had been packaged differently. Huge box with loads of paper. Would be better in strong plastic wrapping like some catalogues use.
    • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

      on November 13, 2017 at 2:50 am -

      Good price only wish it had been packaged differently. Good price only wish it had been packaged differently. Huge box with loads of paper. Would be better in strong plastic wrapping like some catalogues use.
  12. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on November 14, 2017 at 2:39 am -

    This review is from : Purina PRO PLAN Dog Medium Adult for Sensitive Skin with OPTIDERMA rich in Salmon Dry Food, 14kg

    Excellent food for my labrador cross. I give her 130g x 2 a day and she weighs 26. 7kg; this time last year she weighed 26.
  13. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on November 16, 2017 at 3:01 am -

    This review is from : Purina PRO PLAN Dog Medium Adult for Sensitive Skin with OPTIDERMA rich in Salmon Dry Food, 14kg

    Excellent food for my labrador cross. I give her 130g x 2 a day and she weighs 26. 7kg; this time last year she weighed 26.
  14. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on November 17, 2017 at 5:40 pm -

    This review is from : Purina PRO PLAN Dog Medium Adult for Sensitive Skin with OPTIDERMA rich in Salmon Dry Food, 14kg

    My daughter has a canninie partner and this was the recommended food.
    • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

      on November 19, 2017 at 5:09 am -

      My daughter has a canninie partner and this was the recommended food.
      • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

        on November 21, 2017 at 7:22 am -

        My dogs enjoy eating and there stomachs have been fine on it.
  15. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on November 23, 2017 at 9:04 am -

    My dogs enjoy eating and there stomachs have been fine on it.