PRO PLAN DOG PURINA PRO PLAN Dog Medium Puppy for Sensitive Digestion : The puppies love it.

My dog is being no help at all. Well, i would love to be able to tell you that my puppy enjoys this food and she is glowing with health as a direct result of such a good quality food. Unfortunately, after weeks of trying to introduce her (gradually) to this food, she absolutely refuses to eat it. If i mix just a few kibbles into her usual food, she will pick out every one of the purina pieces and lay them on the floor beside her dish. I’m sure it is just because she is a fussy eater and also hates any change in routine. Purina are a well-established brand and it appears that this is a well-balanced food at a competitive price.

Not bad, dog eats it fine but has since came. Not bad, dog eats it fine but has since came out in a rash so not ideal for pups with allergies.

Great food for a fussy puppy. We got this product to help try to feed an extremely fussy puppy. He was not eating full meals and was picking at bits and pieces but not actually eating much. The vet recommended the purina brand so it was really great when we were offered this on amazon vine. At the time we also ordered the standard purina pro plan puppy food in the hope that at least one would be a hit. As we soon discovered both of these foods proved to be a success. Our little dude first tried the standard food and within half an hour he had slowly but surely eaten more in one session than ever before and the trend continued with this food. The small pellets are easy for them to chew and swallow and they smell good (even to my human nose) so our pup was immediately attracted to them. As these are designed for a sensitive stomach we kept an eye out for anything suspicious emerging from the other end after he had eaten this and we were pleased to note that there was nothing notable and no noxious smells at any point either – something which can be a problem from time to time. Overall finding these foods has really helped to give us peace of mind about our pup as he is now eating a reasonable amount and it also seems to be helping his energy levels.

Key specs for PURINA PRO PLAN Dog Medium Puppy for Sensitive Digestion with OPTIDIGEST Rich in Chicken Dry Food, 12 kg:

  • Clinically proven to help improve microflora balance
  • Easily digestible for dogs with sensitive digestion
  • Prebiotic helps supports intestinal health
  • Carefully cooked to help retain the goodness form
  • Packaging may vary

Comments from buyers

“Ideal dog food for puppies with sensitive tummies, Not bad, dog eats it fine but has since came , Purina Pro Plan Dry Dog Food Medium Puppy For Sensitive Digestion”

Great filler for dog treat dispensing toys. This is designed for medium sized breeds as a food. Now, our pup is a rather large fellow, being a retriever/newfoundland cross. We have to be careful what he eats as his stomach tends to be sensitive (beef in particular causes him digestive issues). He has a the company of animals foobler interactive electronic treat toy which requires treats of a certain size to be dispensed. It can be filled with kibble instead, but the kibble has to be the correct size to pass through. We elected to use kibble and when he was younger, filled it with small puppy kibble. Now that he’s 10 months old, we’ve moved on to filling it with medium puppy kibble so that it still passes through the opening of his toy while being large enough for our pup to eat without inhaling it too fast once he gets it out of the toy. He’s responded well to this, no signs of indigestion at all. It’s been a great supplement to his regular meals (currently feeding purina pro plan dog large puppy robust with optistart rich in chicken dry food – 12 kg) and he seeks out his toy eagerly for in-between meal snacks (just keep track of how much your dog consumes overall of course).

Great product, the dogs loved it and when the box from amazon landed they wouldn’t leave it alone so much so that they salavated all over the top, leading me to think that it had been raining outside. It smells meaty and from the way that my dogs wolfed it down, i assume that its the best thing since sliced bread in their world. Whilst i can’t say about the overall effects so far, i can say that its easy on the digestion (as their stools are normal) and i also assume it will deliver on the rest of the promises. Definitely a product i’ll be sticking with but if you buy it remember to keep it in a place they can’t access.

Easy to use, you just open the packet, no preparation or complicated serving instructions here. My previous food required such complex preparation i’m surprised they didn’t go next door to get fed. Our dogs were a bit sniffy at first, but when i added some steak and gravy, they wolfed it all down.So go one, don’t skimp on the doggies in your life, give them the best.

One Comment

  1. AUTHORSize: 12kg

    on October 24, 2017 at 5:41 pm -

    Very happy with this product the larger bags seem to have. Very happy with this product the larger bags seem to have a drier kibble to the smaller thou ?.
  2. AUTHORSize: 12kg

    on October 26, 2017 at 2:51 pm -

    This review is from : PURINA PRO PLAN Dog Medium Puppy for Sensitive Digestion with OPTIDIGEST Rich in Chicken Dry Food, 12 kg

    Very happy with this product the larger bags seem to have. Very happy with this product the larger bags seem to have a drier kibble to the smaller thou ?.
    • AUTHORSize: 12kg Verified Purchase

      on October 27, 2017 at 11:11 pm -

      Ideal dog food for puppies with sensitive tummies. The biscuits smell really nice and retain their moistness for at least a monthwe have now been feeding our little pup on this since we got her, and she loves it. She has such a great appetite when she decides she likes something, but she is rather picky. There have never been any qualms about this though. I do add a little bit of warm water to this, (not much, just enough to moisten them further), and that helps to encourage her. The biscuits are all uniformed size and the bag is a thick material that is resistant to the normal splits and tears you can often get with dog food bags. The added bonus of the price difference between amazon and the pet shops was most certainly welcome. Will definitely be buying this again.
      • AUTHORSize: 12kg Verified Purchase

        on October 29, 2017 at 4:52 am -

        Ideal dog food for puppies with sensitive tummies. The biscuits smell really nice and retain their moistness for at least a monthwe have now been feeding our little pup on this since we got her, and she loves it. She has such a great appetite when she decides she likes something, but she is rather picky. There have never been any qualms about this though. I do add a little bit of warm water to this, (not much, just enough to moisten them further), and that helps to encourage her. The biscuits are all uniformed size and the bag is a thick material that is resistant to the normal splits and tears you can often get with dog food bags. The added bonus of the price difference between amazon and the pet shops was most certainly welcome. Will definitely be buying this again.
  3. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on October 30, 2017 at 7:35 am -

    Of these flavours and types in this range and enjoyed by the dogs- i am a little unsure about. I can say that all of these flavours and types in this range and enjoyed by the dogs- i am a little unsure about the exact breeds total number of varieties but choose age and dog approx size and you can’t go wrong- odour free. Just check the weight and bag size to endure it’s the best value.
    • AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

      on November 1, 2017 at 3:09 pm -

      Of these flavours and types in this range and enjoyed by the dogs- i am a little unsure about. I can say that all of these flavours and types in this range and enjoyed by the dogs- i am a little unsure about the exact breeds total number of varieties but choose age and dog approx size and you can’t go wrong- odour free. Just check the weight and bag size to endure it’s the best value.
      • AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

        on November 3, 2017 at 9:16 pm -

        A perfect size for an easy to dispense product. The size of the pellets and their softness make this easy to eat for small mouths. If your dogs diet is mixed with other food it should thrive.
  4. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on November 5, 2017 at 6:59 pm -

    A perfect size for an easy to dispense product. The size of the pellets and their softness make this easy to eat for small mouths. If your dogs diet is mixed with other food it should thrive.
    • AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

      on November 6, 2017 at 4:53 pm -

      This one however he wolfs back like its gone out of fashion. Our dog although not fussy or in need of a special diet due to sensitive issues has still had some adverse effects with some dog foods, this one however he wolfs back like its gone out of fashion. Lovely small little pellets and easy to eat and digest from what we can see. No grumbles from us and no grumbles from our dog, he is one happy chap.
      • AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

        on November 8, 2017 at 10:54 am -

        This one however he wolfs back like its gone out of fashion. Our dog although not fussy or in need of a special diet due to sensitive issues has still had some adverse effects with some dog foods, this one however he wolfs back like its gone out of fashion. Lovely small little pellets and easy to eat and digest from what we can see. No grumbles from us and no grumbles from our dog, he is one happy chap.
  5. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on November 10, 2017 at 2:22 am -

    Pellets are not too soft nor too hard for a puppy. These are for your larger puppies like spaniels (adult dog 10-25kg). Wolfed down without a problem. I was given these as a tester and took them to my local dog pound and they said they had no problems and the puppies seemed to really enjoy them. Purina aren’t the best in dog food but they are well constructed and you’re not paying the earth. Apparently a good indicator is dog poop and apparently the food caused no issues there either 🙂 these are for puppies with sensitive tummies. Remember to change food types slowly over a week. Lots of water and walks helps so their toilet habbits can help. No puppy wants to make a mess but some cannot handle rich foods so make changes slowly.
    • AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

      on November 11, 2017 at 5:40 pm -

      Pellets are not too soft nor too hard for a puppy. These are for your larger puppies like spaniels (adult dog 10-25kg). Wolfed down without a problem. I was given these as a tester and took them to my local dog pound and they said they had no problems and the puppies seemed to really enjoy them. Purina aren’t the best in dog food but they are well constructed and you’re not paying the earth. Apparently a good indicator is dog poop and apparently the food caused no issues there either 🙂 these are for puppies with sensitive tummies. Remember to change food types slowly over a week. Lots of water and walks helps so their toilet habbits can help. No puppy wants to make a mess but some cannot handle rich foods so make changes slowly.
  6. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on November 12, 2017 at 8:47 pm -

    This review is from : PURINA PRO PLAN Dog Medium Puppy for Sensitive Digestion with OPTIDIGEST Rich in Chicken Dry Food, 12 kg

    A great dog food and a good size bag too. I’ve recently changed my dog food to this purina pro plan and i’ve been very happy with the results. My dog is just under 3 years old and made the transition over to the purina very well – i followed the packaging’s recomendation to mix “old brand” with “new” over 3 days and this worked well. So far the dog has eaten all the food given to her and she seemes to enjoy the food too – , which implies that she prefers the taste of this food too. I have been feeding my dog this food for a week and already her coat is just as shiny as it was before the transition there’s no bad breath and, interestingly, her “buisness” is a lot less smelly, there seems to be no effect on her stomach too, which is very sensitive, and no excess mess either. All in all i’m very happy with this dog food and will certainly be buying more in future. The 3kg bag really does offer a lot of food, and has managed to feed my medium sized dog well with still about another 1 weeks’ worth of food left.
  7. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on November 13, 2017 at 2:22 pm -

    This review is from : PURINA PRO PLAN Dog Medium Puppy for Sensitive Digestion with OPTIDIGEST Rich in Chicken Dry Food, 12 kg

    A great dog food and a good size bag too. I’ve recently changed my dog food to this purina pro plan and i’ve been very happy with the results. My dog is just under 3 years old and made the transition over to the purina very well – i followed the packaging’s recomendation to mix “old brand” with “new” over 3 days and this worked well. So far the dog has eaten all the food given to her and she seemes to enjoy the food too – , which implies that she prefers the taste of this food too. I have been feeding my dog this food for a week and already her coat is just as shiny as it was before the transition there’s no bad breath and, interestingly, her “buisness” is a lot less smelly, there seems to be no effect on her stomach too, which is very sensitive, and no excess mess either. All in all i’m very happy with this dog food and will certainly be buying more in future. The 3kg bag really does offer a lot of food, and has managed to feed my medium sized dog well with still about another 1 weeks’ worth of food left.
    • AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

      on November 15, 2017 at 10:33 am -

      Got these for my dog, she likes the odd dry food but struggles with some products, they can be a bit hard for her, this is a brand i’ve found she really likes. Ignoring all the claims, as most manufacturers make the same blah dee blah claims, only a vet or scientist would be able to test these theories and it would take more than my dog to prove them. Its weather or not you dog like them or not, that’s what counts. Mine is very happy with these, good sized bits, but seems happy enough, they do seem a little softer than some i’ve found which for my dogs a big plus. The bag is a very good size, forgot how big a 2. What lets these down is the price, £13 is to much when there is not the premium ingredients, chicken 16%, dehydrated poultry protein, not sure what that is, animal fat, gluten, maize, rice (7%), soya meal, digest, dried beet pulp, all these are there to bulk it out, dried chicory root (1%, source of prebiotics), minerals, dried egg, fish oil, dried colostrum (0. 1%) what is that?if your happy with that for your puppy, and i’m sure its fine.
      • AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

        on November 17, 2017 at 3:33 am -

        Got these for my dog, she likes the odd dry food but struggles with some products, they can be a bit hard for her, this is a brand i’ve found she really likes. Ignoring all the claims, as most manufacturers make the same blah dee blah claims, only a vet or scientist would be able to test these theories and it would take more than my dog to prove them. Its weather or not you dog like them or not, that’s what counts. Mine is very happy with these, good sized bits, but seems happy enough, they do seem a little softer than some i’ve found which for my dogs a big plus. The bag is a very good size, forgot how big a 2. What lets these down is the price, £13 is to much when there is not the premium ingredients, chicken 16%, dehydrated poultry protein, not sure what that is, animal fat, gluten, maize, rice (7%), soya meal, digest, dried beet pulp, all these are there to bulk it out, dried chicory root (1%, source of prebiotics), minerals, dried egg, fish oil, dried colostrum (0. 1%) what is that?if your happy with that for your puppy, and i’m sure its fine.
  8. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on November 18, 2017 at 8:25 pm -

    It’s hard to review dog food because dogs generally eat anything put in front of them. My puppy sometimes has a bit of a dodgy gut and i do think it has been reduced with this, so i suppose it has worked. A very strong bag as well which doesn’t split easily.
    • AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

      on November 20, 2017 at 4:20 pm -

      It’s hard to review dog food because dogs generally eat anything put in front of them. My puppy sometimes has a bit of a dodgy gut and i do think it has been reduced with this, so i suppose it has worked. A very strong bag as well which doesn’t split easily.
      • AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

        on November 22, 2017 at 3:33 pm -

        Another good product from purina. I (or rather my dogs) are big fans of purina dog food because i think that the ingredients are of high quality. It smells nice and the kibble size is small, which is why i got it for my dogs – they are not puppies, they are jack russells, one of which is having a few dental problems in her old age, so i felt that the small biscuits would be easier for her to eat. They really like this food and like all the purina food i have tried, it does not flare up my younger jack russells skin (he has sensitivities). They seem happy with it and even the cats are interested in it.
  9. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on November 23, 2017 at 12:00 pm -

    Another good product from purina. I (or rather my dogs) are big fans of purina dog food because i think that the ingredients are of high quality. It smells nice and the kibble size is small, which is why i got it for my dogs – they are not puppies, they are jack russells, one of which is having a few dental problems in her old age, so i felt that the small biscuits would be easier for her to eat. They really like this food and like all the purina food i have tried, it does not flare up my younger jack russells skin (he has sensitivities). They seem happy with it and even the cats are interested in it.
    • AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

      on November 24, 2017 at 5:48 pm -

      Thought my fussy cockapoo would enjoy this. But no she turned her nose up. Thought my fussy cockapoo would enjoy this. But no she turned her nose up at it and continued to try and get everything and anything out of the bin. I then gave to a friend whose puppy loved it. I don’t think there is anything thing wrong with this dog food only my dog.
      • AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

        on November 26, 2017 at 7:31 am -

        Thought my fussy cockapoo would enjoy this. But no she turned her nose up. Thought my fussy cockapoo would enjoy this. But no she turned her nose up at it and continued to try and get everything and anything out of the bin. I then gave to a friend whose puppy loved it. I don’t think there is anything thing wrong with this dog food only my dog.
  10. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on November 27, 2017 at 11:27 am -

    The usual crunchy kibble fair. Well received by the intended recipient, especially if mixed with water and a pilchard :).
  11. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on November 29, 2017 at 6:15 am -

    This review is from : PURINA PRO PLAN Dog Medium Puppy for Sensitive Digestion with OPTIDIGEST Rich in Chicken Dry Food, 12 kg

    The usual crunchy kibble fair. Well received by the intended recipient, especially if mixed with water and a pilchard :).