PRO PLAN DOG Purina Pro Plan Medium and Large Adult 7 : “Amber” said ‘Great for Senior Dogs – but must have Wealthy Owners!’

So it’s good to find something they’ll both happily eat and which. This is a complete and balanced diet for medium and large dogs over 7yrs – i have two large breed dogs, one will eat anything and the other is a bit fussier, so it’s good to find something they’ll both happily eat and which is a quality product. The biscuits are small cubes, which my greedier dog gulps down while the other picks daintily. The food doesn’t have much of a smell, which is a bonus for me. I gradually switched over, and my two dogs had no tummy upsets with it, and both have had plenty of energy and look perfectly happy on this food. They certainly come running fast enough when it’s mealtimes, and in fact my fussier dog is just as fast to race to his bowl, where with the previous food he was in no great hurry, so this is a definite thumbs up from him.

Our spaniel mavis is getting on in years – not old, she’ll have you know, but mature like fine wine; like jean brodie, she is in her prime, but definitely over the brow of the hill as far as dog food is concerned; definitely on the senior side of the line (just don’t tell her i said so). Always hard to tell with mavis; she’ll eat pretty much whatever you put in front of her, edible or not. Frankly, she’ll eat anything; a pile of manure is an all-you-can-eat buffet to her. Consequently, it’s hard to judge the quality of feed just by how quickly she cleans her bowl. The ingredients look well enough; there’s fish oil to support an ageing dog, which you can definitely smell (and might well be off-putting to a fussier animal. It does advise on the packet, that this kibble should be introduced gradually – which doesn’t bode well for the pickier palette in my opinion. I can’t imagine our fuss-pot terrier poppy eating it), but it doesn’t seem to put mavis off at all, quite the contrary. It’s 29% protein, moderately high (but not great).

This seems a pretty good dog food – formulated for medium to large adult dogs. Cant say i’m entirely sure about what makes it special for older dogs but it claims to be good for the teeth, joints and digestion. The amazon page has the wrong product details though and the packaging itself doesn’t explain much other than making bold claims. Our doggie likes it well enough and the kibble is nice – plain brown smallish round balls. No nasty colourants etc like some other brands. No problems with digestive upset either. Here are the specifications for the PRO PLAN DOG Purina Pro Plan Medium and Large Adult 7:

  • Specially formulated for dental care
  • Helps support healthy ageing, thanks to nutrition adapted to senior dogs
  • A combination of key nutrients that helps to support healthy joints for your senior dog’s active lifestyle.
  • Proven to enhance brain function for more active years through our selective blend of nutrients
  • Contains high quality pieces of chicken

This pretty much gave a new lease of life to two. This pretty much gave a new lease of life to two of our older dogs, buy it, you’ll notice the difference.

This dog food comes in a 3kg vaccum sealed plastic bag. States good for dog’s health, helps support dental and healthly aging etc. But the price nearly £19 for 3kg is well more than in supermakets. Having looked that the bag (in many languages) cannot any details of the ingredients used. I have checked the suppliers website as well. It has loads of informationhttps://www. Uk/about-us/faqanyway, took to family member who has a medium sized dog about 9 years old. Tried this dog food and a small amount was eaten by the dog, then we went for a walk – tried again, some more was eaten. Overall the dog seemed to enjoy this food. – having called today a bowl was eaten yesterday with no problems. For me the big put off is the cost.

Reviews from purchasers :

  • Gracie the 9 year old black Labrador said “It’s delicious
  • This pretty much gave a new lease of life to two
  • We had reasonable sucess with this food.

Fish is more likely to enhance brain function i think. Our grown up springers love taste testing dog food. They are working dogs and it’s a job they relish. The charming photo on the bag is of one of their breed so the packaging instantly appealed to them. The smell is attractive, there are no bright colours that encourage crazy behaviour, all seems sound and sensible. They are very keen indeed on the pro plan opti age kibble, in fact at this moment they are eagerly sitting beside me offering their enthusiastic compliments to the chef. I trust that the top of the range price of this dog food means it is extra special although the tiny writing on the back of the bag gives away the fact that the percentage of protein is 14%, not that impressive, but protein can bring on problems with hyperactivity too, hopefully the recipe is well balanced. Lots of vegetable oil and rice. We are often advised by the vet that if dogs are showing signs of digestive problems, feed them only chicken and rice. So the simple ingredients should be easy on them.

My labrador loves this food, much more than the. My labrador loves this food, much more than the food he was being given, we feed him 150 g twice a day and his bowl is as clean as if it had been washed in the dishwasher, if he could speak i know he would say.

One Comment

  1. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on October 28, 2017 at 12:32 am -

    Gracie the 9 year old black labrador said “it’s delicious. Gracie the 9 year old black labrador said “it’s delicious. It’s keeping my coat shiny, my eyes bright and my nose wet. The kibble is just the right size for my old teeth.
    • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

      on October 29, 2017 at 5:45 am -

      Gracie the 9 year old black labrador said “it’s delicious. Gracie the 9 year old black labrador said “it’s delicious. It’s keeping my coat shiny, my eyes bright and my nose wet. The kibble is just the right size for my old teeth.
  2. AUTHORSize: 3kg Verified Purchase

    on October 30, 2017 at 7:43 am -

    This review is from : Purina Pro Plan Medium and Large Adult 7+ with Optiage Dry Dog Food Rich in Chicken, 14 kg

    Great price would use again. Prompt delivery , great price would use again.
    • AUTHORSize: 3kg Verified Purchase

      on October 31, 2017 at 6:14 am -

      Great price would use again. Prompt delivery , great price would use again.
      • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

        on November 1, 2017 at 8:35 am -

        This was recommended by my vet as my labrador is elderly. This was recommended by my vet as my labrador is elderly. I don’t doubt it is nutritionally well researched but it is not as popular with the dog as her previous food was so we sometimes have to make it more appetising.
  3. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on November 2, 2017 at 10:17 am -

    This review is from : Purina Pro Plan Medium and Large Adult 7+ with Optiage Dry Dog Food Rich in Chicken, 14 kg

    This was recommended by my vet as my labrador is elderly. This was recommended by my vet as my labrador is elderly. I don’t doubt it is nutritionally well researched but it is not as popular with the dog as her previous food was so we sometimes have to make it more appetising.
  4. AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

    on November 3, 2017 at 5:20 am -

    This review is from : Purina Pro Plan Medium and Large Adult 7+ with Optiage Dry Dog Food Rich in Chicken, 14 kg

    The dogs are enjoying, although think they prefer the shape of the old formula.
    • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

      on November 4, 2017 at 12:22 pm -

      The dogs are enjoying, although think they prefer the shape of the old formula.
      • AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

        on November 6, 2017 at 6:49 am -

        The pet loves this and no tummy troubles so we are happy. My dogs loves this food ,one of the only times she comes to “bother” me for her dinner is when this is on the menu.
  5. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on November 8, 2017 at 8:57 am -

    The pet loves this and no tummy troubles so we are happy. My dogs loves this food ,one of the only times she comes to “bother” me for her dinner is when this is on the menu.
  6. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on November 10, 2017 at 5:57 am -

    This review is from : Purina Pro Plan Medium and Large Adult 7+ with Optiage Dry Dog Food Rich in Chicken, 14 kg

    My dog enjoyed this very much. The purina pro plan dog food for medium/large senior dogs has gone down a treat with my golden retriever. She has always been quite a fussy little thing, but she surprised me with how she has taken to this particular food. She has wolfed it down as soon as i have put it out each time. This greatly surprises me, because she is getting on for 12 now, and she has only rarely been this happy to try a new food. The pro plan 7+ contains additional fish oil to help aging joints, and the whole food has been manufactured with senior dog in mind. As such, the nutrient levels have been adjusted to reflect the needs of the aging dog. Upon examining the ingredients, it seems fairly standard for senior dog food. There doesn’t appear to be any spectacularly new and interesting things added, that would encourage your older dog to start acting like a puppy again. Bearing in mind, however, that my elderly dog really enjoyed eating it, i would still recommend this dog food.
    • AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

      on November 11, 2017 at 3:10 pm -

      My dog enjoyed this very much. The purina pro plan dog food for medium/large senior dogs has gone down a treat with my golden retriever. She has always been quite a fussy little thing, but she surprised me with how she has taken to this particular food. She has wolfed it down as soon as i have put it out each time. This greatly surprises me, because she is getting on for 12 now, and she has only rarely been this happy to try a new food. The pro plan 7+ contains additional fish oil to help aging joints, and the whole food has been manufactured with senior dog in mind. As such, the nutrient levels have been adjusted to reflect the needs of the aging dog. Upon examining the ingredients, it seems fairly standard for senior dog food. There doesn’t appear to be any spectacularly new and interesting things added, that would encourage your older dog to start acting like a puppy again. Bearing in mind, however, that my elderly dog really enjoyed eating it, i would still recommend this dog food.
  7. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on November 13, 2017 at 2:57 am -

    This review is from : Purina Pro Plan Medium and Large Adult 7+ with Optiage Dry Dog Food Rich in Chicken, 14 kg

    A reassuring purchase for your dog. As my golden retriever is now 9 years old, this product drew my attention. I never just provide dry food on its own for my dog, as i feel that some added wetness provided in natural or tinned meat is more natural, so although this is not the cheapest of dried food, i have used it with confidence. My dog adapts immediately to changes in diet, so i gave him this straight from the packet from day 1 with no adaptation from his normal food with no digestive upset at all. He is not a fussy eater, but i understand from other reviews that it has proved successful for pernickety feeders. Overall i can find no faults with this food as my dog has appeared to enjoy it wholeheartedly. It does come from a respected and well known brand, so buyers can have confidence in its purchase.
  8. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on November 14, 2017 at 4:18 am -

    This review is from : Purina Pro Plan Medium and Large Adult 7+ with Optiage Dry Dog Food Rich in Chicken, 14 kg

    A reassuring purchase for your dog. As my golden retriever is now 9 years old, this product drew my attention. I never just provide dry food on its own for my dog, as i feel that some added wetness provided in natural or tinned meat is more natural, so although this is not the cheapest of dried food, i have used it with confidence. My dog adapts immediately to changes in diet, so i gave him this straight from the packet from day 1 with no adaptation from his normal food with no digestive upset at all. He is not a fussy eater, but i understand from other reviews that it has proved successful for pernickety feeders. Overall i can find no faults with this food as my dog has appeared to enjoy it wholeheartedly. It does come from a respected and well known brand, so buyers can have confidence in its purchase.
    • AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

      on November 15, 2017 at 12:33 pm -

      We have a 9 year old shepherd. Of course she is slowing down and has creaky and painful joints – so anything that will help her in her aging years is of interest. 0here’s the claim:through our exclusive, patented* blend of nutrients, optiage is proven to enhance brain function and helps increase activity levels, liveliness and interest in playtime so you can keep living an amazing life together. Its doesnt exactly say what it is, that keep the brain active. I am curious what that is, but with a pat pending – guess it remains a ‘secret’ for now. So maybe thats the ‘magic’ ingredent?in any case, woof likes it. And is happy to graze on this throughout the day. Its a god sized kibble with a nice smell and good crunch.
  9. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on November 17, 2017 at 7:35 pm -

    This review is from : Purina Pro Plan Medium and Large Adult 7+ with Optiage Dry Dog Food Rich in Chicken, 14 kg

    We have a 9 year old shepherd. Of course she is slowing down and has creaky and painful joints – so anything that will help her in her aging years is of interest. 0here’s the claim:through our exclusive, patented* blend of nutrients, optiage is proven to enhance brain function and helps increase activity levels, liveliness and interest in playtime so you can keep living an amazing life together. Its doesnt exactly say what it is, that keep the brain active. I am curious what that is, but with a pat pending – guess it remains a ‘secret’ for now. So maybe thats the ‘magic’ ingredent?in any case, woof likes it. And is happy to graze on this throughout the day. Its a god sized kibble with a nice smell and good crunch.
    • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

      on November 20, 2017 at 3:27 am -

      Product so i have to say it is very good *********. Are dog loves this product so i have to say it is very good *********.
      • AUTHORSize: 14kg Verified Purchase

        on November 22, 2017 at 3:25 am -

        Product so i have to say it is very good *********. Are dog loves this product so i have to say it is very good *********.
  10. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on November 23, 2017 at 4:53 am -

    Very good combo of nutrients for the older dog- great food. Very good quality ‘dry’ dog food with a decent meat content. Great for mature/older dogs. Very good combo of nutrients to help in particular your dogs joints, and we do find good quality food like this taken on a regular basis really does help. Bit pricey but when we use pro plan in particular, we find our dogs fill up quicker so you use less, which makes it more economical and you are guaranteed a good quality feed. We use a wide range of this ‘opti’ line of products and you get good sized food chunks for whatever dog size your particular type of pro plan is targeted at- it’s not too dry and smells pleasantly meaty- and for ease of use it comes in good, sturdy, resealable plastic bags. Never had any problems with purina dog food and this line is an excellent one. If your dog takes to it, you’re on a winner.
  11. AUTHORSize: 3kg What's this?

    on November 24, 2017 at 7:34 pm -

    This review is from : Purina Pro Plan Medium and Large Adult 7+ with Optiage Dry Dog Food Rich in Chicken, 14 kg

    Very good combo of nutrients for the older dog- great food. Very good quality ‘dry’ dog food with a decent meat content. Great for mature/older dogs. Very good combo of nutrients to help in particular your dogs joints, and we do find good quality food like this taken on a regular basis really does help. Bit pricey but when we use pro plan in particular, we find our dogs fill up quicker so you use less, which makes it more economical and you are guaranteed a good quality feed. We use a wide range of this ‘opti’ line of products and you get good sized food chunks for whatever dog size your particular type of pro plan is targeted at- it’s not too dry and smells pleasantly meaty- and for ease of use it comes in good, sturdy, resealable plastic bags. Never had any problems with purina dog food and this line is an excellent one. If your dog takes to it, you’re on a winner.