Skinners Field & Trial Lamb and Rice Dog Food : Good product at a solid price.

An excellent value dog food that seems to be enjoyed. Hard to score a food that you don’t eat yourself but my fussy dog quite likes this for now. It is a huge bag and can’t be sealed directly so best decanted into smaller sealable bags. Time will tell if it lasts or if my dog gets fed up before the bag is finishedotherwise an excellent value dog food that seems to be enjoyed.

Skinners field & trial lamb and rice dog food, 15 kg. ‘skinners field & trial lamb and rice dog food, 15 kg’ is a big value pack of dog kibble aimed at working dogs (with the bonus that working dog food is exempt from vat). It comes in a large plastic bag, which is unfortunately not resealable, so you will need to either empty it into a container or put clips on it to keep it fresh once open. The kibble is small, so suitable for all breeds, and seems to be highly palatable, our dogs were very enthused by the bag even before it was open. The feeding recommendation on the bag says 100g of food per 8kg dog weight, so if you have a particularly small dog then this 15kg pack is probably not the best size for you, as it will last for many months. The list of ingredients seems good, with the slight caveat that i don’t like that the list of herbs etc added includes garlic – this seems odd, as garlic is a known source of a type of anaemia in dogs. I assume the amount is tiny, as the food doesn’t smell remotely garlicky, but i would prefer it to not be there. Switching the dog over onto this food went without incident (as is always recommended, we did it gradually over a few days, mixing with her previous food), and she has had no ill-effects whatsoever from it. Good value food, made in the uk, and hypoallergenic, would have been five stars without the garlic content and with a resealable bag.

How do dogs manage in the wild?. . Actually it is the dog who loves it. He is a very fussy eater and has now taken to cooked dog foods such as are sold in the supermarkets now and are very expensive. It was rather a relief to discover that he will quite happily eat this lamb variety if it is mixed with his wet food. It is not easy to feed such a fuss-pot and he is a big dog into the bargain (american bulldog), and is rather expensive. However, i am pleased to say that he enjoys the skinner range, at least for now, so i shall continue with it. There is also a variety of flavours, and puppy food.

Key specs for Skinners Field & Trial Lamb and Rice Dog Food, 15 kg:

  • Formulated for adult working dogs
  • Made with British lamb and whole rice
  • Maintains healthy teeth and bones
  • Builds strong muscles
  • Also helps protect the joints of your dog

Comments from buyers

“dog loves Skinners, Price is good, sandwiched between the premium brands and the lower , Reasonably priced, healthy and nutritious.”

One dog likes it, the other doesn’t. One, a collie cross, eats just about anything you put in front of him, the other is a fussy little terrier. He wolfs this down as if it’s the last meal he’ll ever get, which is how he eats every meal. We mixed it with their regular kibble for a week and they seemed okay with it, but when we made the switch to the field & trial the terrier reluctantly ate it for a couple of days and then just point blank refused to have anymore and we had to mix small amounts with boiled rice before she’d touch it and have now put her back on her regular food. Shame, because it says it is hypoallergenic and she suffers from allergies in summer. Looking at the ingredients this otherwise seems to be a pretty standard dry dog food, similar to many others and it’s priced accordingly. If your dog is like our collie cross and quite active then it may well like this food, but if you’ve got a fussy eater then you’d probably be better off trying a small bag first. It is around mid-price for this kind of food, but the daily recommended serving for our collie cross is 50g more a day than our regular, more expensive food, so over the course of a month it probably wouldn’t work out that much cheaper. Due to our terrier’s reaction, we’ll obviously be sticking to our regular feed.

Dog likes it and it doesnt affect her stomach. The dog isn’t fussy about food. She’ll eat most things but she does have a sensitive stomach so we have to be careful as the effects tend to be awkward (seriously, how am i supposed to poop scoop that up?). This stuff has gone down fine with no ill effects. I’ve given up reading pet food packets, it’s always disappointing. The front is always all wholesome and natural but the ingredients never match the expectations. By its nature kibble will never live up to expectations but the dog likes it, it doesn’t adversely affect her, it doesn’t stink the kitchen out and seems filling.

The dog likes it with some water added and it is good for him. . Dog food is difficult to review because we don’t know what it tastes like. All i can say is that my dog only eats this if i mix it with water; he refuses to touch it dry and i can’t say why that is. The dog food itself seems to be really good for his health. It stops his skin being itchy and flaky and thank the lord it stops flatulence. Maybe i should put it in some other family members’ dinners. The food smells fine and is great value for money. My dog really enjoys it with water added to it.

One Comment

  1. AUTHORSize: 2.5 kg

    on November 17, 2017 at 7:22 am -

    This review is from : Skinners Field & Trial Lamb and Rice Dog Food, 15 kg

    Delivery date in time as expected. Thank you so much for getting it to me with the quickness works well money well spent.
  2. AUTHORSize: 2.5 kg

    on November 19, 2017 at 5:38 am -

    This review is from : Skinners Field & Trial Lamb and Rice Dog Food, 15 kg

    Delivery date in time as expected. Thank you so much for getting it to me with the quickness works well money well spent.
    • AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

      on November 21, 2017 at 3:13 am -

      The pieces are smaller and more solid-looking than in other dry dog food that we have bought. Our working collie was happy with his old, cheaper, brand, but with this one he clears his bowl faster then usual. He’s nervy and occasionally refuses his meals, so i’m pleased to find something that he likes better. We are half-way through the bag and there has been no noticeable change in his behaviour, or any sign of stomach upsets. It seems to be a good all round feed for an active dog.
  3. AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

    on November 22, 2017 at 5:52 pm -

    This review is from : Skinners Field & Trial Lamb and Rice Dog Food, 15 kg

    The pieces are smaller and more solid-looking than in other dry dog food that we have bought. Our working collie was happy with his old, cheaper, brand, but with this one he clears his bowl faster then usual. He’s nervy and occasionally refuses his meals, so i’m pleased to find something that he likes better. We are half-way through the bag and there has been no noticeable change in his behaviour, or any sign of stomach upsets. It seems to be a good all round feed for an active dog.
  4. AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

    on November 23, 2017 at 5:38 am -

    This review is from : Skinners Field & Trial Lamb and Rice Dog Food, 15 kg

    Well priced and dog approved. A middle of the road price wise food and has easier to digest ingredients for the delicate stomach of dogs like mine. It went straight down without having to add any wet food on top (something i regularly have to do) and there havent been any tummy upsets so on the whole we are both happy with this food.
  5. AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

    on November 24, 2017 at 11:53 am -

    This review is from : Skinners Field & Trial Lamb and Rice Dog Food, 15 kg

    Well priced and dog approved. A middle of the road price wise food and has easier to digest ingredients for the delicate stomach of dogs like mine. It went straight down without having to add any wet food on top (something i regularly have to do) and there havent been any tummy upsets so on the whole we are both happy with this food.
  6. AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

    on November 25, 2017 at 9:47 pm -

    This review is from : Skinners Field & Trial Lamb and Rice Dog Food, 15 kg

    This food is really enjoyed by my dogs. It is non-allergenic, and kind to sensitive digestion, so no tummy upsets. The kibble is a good size, and is wolfed down immediately, particularly by our springer, who really likes it.Lamb and rice is a flavour that our dogs really like, and find satisfying. Skinners food is a brand that i happily recommend – our dogs too.
    • AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

      on November 26, 2017 at 3:42 pm -

      This food is really enjoyed by my dogs. It is non-allergenic, and kind to sensitive digestion, so no tummy upsets. The kibble is a good size, and is wolfed down immediately, particularly by our springer, who really likes it.Lamb and rice is a flavour that our dogs really like, and find satisfying. Skinners food is a brand that i happily recommend – our dogs too.
      • AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

        on November 28, 2017 at 7:54 am -

        If dogs could express an opinion, this would be it. The dogs really enjoy this product and i’m happy to be able to feed them a high quality, gluten free biscuit. I used to buy the ‘wagg’ gluten free but this is far superior. I’m even happy to give them a bowl of this after a good workout.
  7. AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

    on November 29, 2017 at 7:41 pm -

    This review is from : Skinners Field & Trial Lamb and Rice Dog Food, 15 kg

    If dogs could express an opinion, this would be it. The dogs really enjoy this product and i’m happy to be able to feed them a high quality, gluten free biscuit. I used to buy the ‘wagg’ gluten free but this is far superior. I’m even happy to give them a bowl of this after a good workout.
  8. AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

    on December 1, 2017 at 10:08 pm -

    This review is from : Skinners Field & Trial Lamb and Rice Dog Food, 15 kg

    I rate skinners very highly for quality and price. I have a very big pointer mix, a good lad fully grown and full of life and energy, his coat is silky and shiny and his eyes are clear and bright, and this is what i have fed him since he left puppyhood. Since i discovered this brand i haven’t looked back.
  9. AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

    on December 2, 2017 at 10:08 pm -

    This review is from : Skinners Field & Trial Lamb and Rice Dog Food, 15 kg

    I rate skinners very highly for quality and price. I have a very big pointer mix, a good lad fully grown and full of life and energy, his coat is silky and shiny and his eyes are clear and bright, and this is what i have fed him since he left puppyhood. Since i discovered this brand i haven’t looked back.
    • AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

      on December 4, 2017 at 10:03 pm -

      Price is good, sandwiched between the premium brands and the lower. Always check the ingredients of dog food as there are all sorts of tricks with the trade. Skinner’s are reasonably open about their ingredients. I’d say “reasonably” because they use the term “meat meal” which is a loose term but at least it has the word “meat” in it unlike other brands. Price is good, sandwiched between the premium brands and the lower foods. Contains barley which a few dogs have issues with but there is no wheat in this one which a lot of dogs have problems with, including my own. He’s fine on this but you need to be aware with a high rice content the dog poo will be bigger, more regular and a bit more sloppy compared with a higher meat content brand. If you are feeding your dog a high meat content food then i wouldn’t recommend switching but if you are feeding your dog a brand liked royal canin then i would swap.
  10. AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

    on December 7, 2017 at 4:02 am -

    This review is from : Skinners Field & Trial Lamb and Rice Dog Food, 15 kg

    Price is good, sandwiched between the premium brands and the lower. Always check the ingredients of dog food as there are all sorts of tricks with the trade. Skinner’s are reasonably open about their ingredients. I’d say “reasonably” because they use the term “meat meal” which is a loose term but at least it has the word “meat” in it unlike other brands. Price is good, sandwiched between the premium brands and the lower foods. Contains barley which a few dogs have issues with but there is no wheat in this one which a lot of dogs have problems with, including my own. He’s fine on this but you need to be aware with a high rice content the dog poo will be bigger, more regular and a bit more sloppy compared with a higher meat content brand. If you are feeding your dog a high meat content food then i wouldn’t recommend switching but if you are feeding your dog a brand liked royal canin then i would swap.
  11. AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

    on December 9, 2017 at 9:28 am -

    This review is from : Skinners Field & Trial Lamb and Rice Dog Food, 15 kg

    Seems to be going down well. . My very active border collie seems to like this. She is a “fussy” eater and i use dried food as a top up for her meat based wet food. She seems to enjoy this food and i cannot see any discernible difference between this and other dry food which i have used.
  12. AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

    on December 10, 2017 at 3:39 pm -

    This review is from : Skinners Field & Trial Lamb and Rice Dog Food, 15 kg

    Seems to be going down well. . My very active border collie seems to like this. She is a “fussy” eater and i use dried food as a top up for her meat based wet food. She seems to enjoy this food and i cannot see any discernible difference between this and other dry food which i have used.
    • AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

      on December 12, 2017 at 6:30 am -

      It’s not like i’m an mp charging myself rent on my second. This is vat free according to the packaging as it’s working dog foodto be honest the only work my dog does is peeing on lampposts, i’m not worried about tax evasion though, it’s not like i’m an mp charging myself rent on my second home in tuscany. I’m happy with this dog food. Because it’s 25% lamb, that’s not a bad meat to bulk ratio. My dog loves it and there’s a lot of it. If you had to compare this to a british meal i would say it’s like having a shepherd’s pie.
      • AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

        on December 13, 2017 at 9:22 pm -

        It’s not like i’m an mp charging myself rent on my second. This is vat free according to the packaging as it’s working dog foodto be honest the only work my dog does is peeing on lampposts, i’m not worried about tax evasion though, it’s not like i’m an mp charging myself rent on my second home in tuscany. I’m happy with this dog food. Because it’s 25% lamb, that’s not a bad meat to bulk ratio. My dog loves it and there’s a lot of it. If you had to compare this to a british meal i would say it’s like having a shepherd’s pie.
  13. AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

    on December 14, 2017 at 9:39 pm -

    I have a greedy brown labrador that will eat anything so he’s probably not the best judge of what food is good or bad. The food itself is standard brown kibble and has a meaty smell to it, we always add water to it and let it soak for a bit, makes it easier for the dog to eat as he’s getting on a bit. He soon wolfs it down with no complaints, the only thing i have noticed is that his poo has changed colour, it is now much lighter. I can’t say much about his wind, that still persists, i was hoping a different food might get rid of it but he still likes to amuse us in the evenings. At around £25-£30 a bag it’s in line with other foods.
    • AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

      on December 17, 2017 at 1:16 am -

      I have a greedy brown labrador that will eat anything so he’s probably not the best judge of what food is good or bad. The food itself is standard brown kibble and has a meaty smell to it, we always add water to it and let it soak for a bit, makes it easier for the dog to eat as he’s getting on a bit. He soon wolfs it down with no complaints, the only thing i have noticed is that his poo has changed colour, it is now much lighter. I can’t say much about his wind, that still persists, i was hoping a different food might get rid of it but he still likes to amuse us in the evenings. At around £25-£30 a bag it’s in line with other foods.
      • AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

        on December 19, 2017 at 9:11 am -

        Our dog loves this food and so does her digestive system and so do we. We have a jrt who is extremely lively and a very fussy eater … we have always fed her on dried food as wet food seems to upset her stomach. She likes most dried dog food but for the last year we have been feeding her on ‘purina beta adult chicken’ … she wolfs this down without any hesitation. However she might like it but her digestive system doesn’t … she gets terrible wind … it’s so bad we have to leave the room. My husband and i couldn’t wait to try her on this skinners field & trial lamb and rice dog food. This dry food is made with british lamb and whole rice which is advertised as being very gentle on a dog’s digestion … we shall see. Although this food is primarily for working dogs, i am sure its fine for any active and energetic dog. The ingredients in this food are all good and include … • brown rice (40%) • lamb meat meal (25%) • barley • chicken fat • whole linseed • lucerne • vitamins a, d3, e, • minerals iron, iodine, copper, zinc, manganese and selenium • also enhanced levels of glucosamine and chondroitin • herbsshaped in small brown kibble sized pieces which feel quite light in the hand, they have a strong meaty smell. We have been feeding our jrt these kibbles for the last two weeks at the recommended amount of 100g per 8kg of your dog’s weight (split into two meals per day). As our dog weighs 10kg, this works out at about 60g am and pm, as with all dried food make sure you offer a plentiful supply of water with the food.
  14. AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

    on December 20, 2017 at 12:49 am -

    Our dog loves this food and so does her digestive system and so do we. We have a jrt who is extremely lively and a very fussy eater … we have always fed her on dried food as wet food seems to upset her stomach. She likes most dried dog food but for the last year we have been feeding her on ‘purina beta adult chicken’ … she wolfs this down without any hesitation. However she might like it but her digestive system doesn’t … she gets terrible wind … it’s so bad we have to leave the room. My husband and i couldn’t wait to try her on this skinners field & trial lamb and rice dog food. This dry food is made with british lamb and whole rice which is advertised as being very gentle on a dog’s digestion … we shall see. Although this food is primarily for working dogs, i am sure its fine for any active and energetic dog. The ingredients in this food are all good and include … • brown rice (40%) • lamb meat meal (25%) • barley • chicken fat • whole linseed • lucerne • vitamins a, d3, e, • minerals iron, iodine, copper, zinc, manganese and selenium • also enhanced levels of glucosamine and chondroitin • herbsshaped in small brown kibble sized pieces which feel quite light in the hand, they have a strong meaty smell. We have been feeding our jrt these kibbles for the last two weeks at the recommended amount of 100g per 8kg of your dog’s weight (split into two meals per day). As our dog weighs 10kg, this works out at about 60g am and pm, as with all dried food make sure you offer a plentiful supply of water with the food.
    • AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

      on December 22, 2017 at 4:18 am -

      Reasonably priced, healthy and nutritious. . This is a kibble type dog food primarly targeted at active working breeds. Although my newfoundlands and clumber spaniel are rather sedentary in disposition compared with collies and hounds i thought i’d give it a try because of the alleged hypoallergenic qualities. My newfies have dry flaky skin and it is difficult to keep it under control without resorting to medicinal solutions. I must say that after 1 month their skins have significantly improved and there is clear evidence of coat regrowth in areas that have been bald -particularly around the eyes and elbows. The ingredients are free of artificial additives and that is always a good thing in my book. I have encountered no evidence of digestive or bowel problems during the change over from their previous diet and all things considered i am very pleased with the outcome. I should also mention that all 3 dogs seem to love the stuff. A very good mid-priced complete dry feed in my view.
  15. AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

    on December 24, 2017 at 4:16 am -

    This review is from : Skinners Field & Trial Lamb and Rice Dog Food, 15 kg

    Reasonably priced, healthy and nutritious. . This is a kibble type dog food primarly targeted at active working breeds. Although my newfoundlands and clumber spaniel are rather sedentary in disposition compared with collies and hounds i thought i’d give it a try because of the alleged hypoallergenic qualities. My newfies have dry flaky skin and it is difficult to keep it under control without resorting to medicinal solutions. I must say that after 1 month their skins have significantly improved and there is clear evidence of coat regrowth in areas that have been bald -particularly around the eyes and elbows. The ingredients are free of artificial additives and that is always a good thing in my book. I have encountered no evidence of digestive or bowel problems during the change over from their previous diet and all things considered i am very pleased with the outcome. I should also mention that all 3 dogs seem to love the stuff. A very good mid-priced complete dry feed in my view.
    • AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

      on December 25, 2017 at 10:45 pm -

      The best food for the labs. . Brilliant dog food for any field and tribal dog. Perfect for the labradors here. Perfect sized kibble, and the dogs seem to scoff the bowl of food down. For value for money this sack will last me 3 weeks. So you are getting a good value per sack.
  16. AUTHORSize: 15 kg What's this?

    on December 26, 2017 at 5:41 pm -

    This review is from : Skinners Field & Trial Lamb and Rice Dog Food, 15 kg

    The best food for the labs. . Brilliant dog food for any field and tribal dog. Perfect for the labradors here. Perfect sized kibble, and the dogs seem to scoff the bowl of food down. For value for money this sack will last me 3 weeks. So you are getting a good value per sack.